Skip to main content
WIU Home WIU Home WIU Home WIU QC

Computer Sciences: Home

This guide lists key resources for getting started with computer sciences research.

Ask a Librarian

Need help?

Contact a reference librarian at (309) 298-2700 or stop by the reference desk on the 2nd floor of Malpass Library.

Permission to use

Creative Commons License
By Mahrya Carncross, WIU Libraries, licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.

Welcome!

computers

Image courtesy of FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Welcome to the Computer Sciences Department Guide! Here, you can find information about Computer Sciences services and resources available at the WIU Libraries and beyond. By clicking on the tabs located toward the top of the screen, you can find links to subject encyclopedias, article databases, websites, and library resources.

As your department's library liaison, I am also available for help with a variety of research-related needs, including: 

  • Finding journals for article submissions
  • Helping with author rights and copyright issues
  • Locating a particular book or article
  • Assisting with research-related assignments 

Im also open to any suggestions you may have about what kind of information would be useful to include on this page. Feel free to contact me at any time!

-Mahrya

What's in this Guide

Article databases

This page lists some of the relevant library databases you will want to use for research.

Journals

Here you will find a list of individual journal titles you may want to look for in the course of your research. These are also great places to submit an article for publication.

Reference tools

Specialized encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks and other reference materials are a great way to find background information on a topic. Here you will find a list of reference tools relevant to computer science.

Books

The library has a wide selection of computer science books for you to use. This page provides you with some sample searches you can use in Westcat (the library's online catalog) to find books.

Web sources

Because computer science is such a rapidly changing field, many of the resources you'll use for research will be found online. This page provides some websites and other online materials to help you get started.

Librarian