WIU Library Links WIU Library Home Comments Site Map Library Hours My Account Comments
Admin Sign In 

EIS 500 (Delany-Barmann) 

Last update: Sep 03rd, 2009 URL: http://wiu.libguides.com/EIS_500  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Scholary Articles             Print Page
  
 

Education Databases

Education Abstracts, 1983- .
Education Abstracts, produced by the H.W. Wilson Company, indexes and abstracts articles from more than 680 periodicals and yearbooks, with indexing back to 1983 and abstracts back to 1994. Books on education published after 1995 are also indexed. Subjects covered include adult education, continuing education, library science, literacy standards, multicultural/ethnic education, teaching methods, and more. (EBSCO)

ERIC, 1966- . (via EBSCO)
ERIC is the premeir index/abstract for scholarly articles and reports in education. ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources. The database provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. The database contains more than 1,300,000 records and links to more than 317,000 full-text documents dating back to 1966. (EBSCO)
 

Journal Archives

JSTOR
JSTOR offers researchers the ability to retrieve high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. The journals archived in JSTOR span many disciplines. Over the summer the University Libraries acquired more J-STOR collections. For information on the University Libraries J-STOR collections visit J-STOR collections at your institution. JSTOR articles are heavily footnoted which often point to primary sources. The education collection has 65 titles.
Project MUSE
Provides full-text to over 100 scholarly journals. Use it to update J-STOR titles. Limit your search to those journals subscribed to by your institution.
 

Google Scholar

The general Google search will not help you find many scholarly articles, but Google Scholar might. Check it out at http://scholar.google.com/

 

Multidisciplinary

Academic Search Premier, 1985- .
Covers a wide variety of topics, including minorities and education. Contains a mix of scholarly and general audience publications. Consider using the limit to scholarly (peer reviewed) journals box. EBSCO. Dates vary.

InfoTrac (Expanded Academic Index), 1980- .
InfoTrac is one of the WIU Libraries’ most popular multidisciplinary database. Easy to use and a majority of the citations include full text.

Readers’ Guide Abstracts, 1890-
Readers' Guide Abstracts is a database containing comprehensive indexing and abstracting of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and Canada. Most of the titles in this database are not scholarly. The abstracts average 125 words in length.
 

Miscellaneous

Communication & Mass Media Complete, dates vary
Communication & Mass Media Complete like Communication & Mass Media Index, Communication & Mass Media Complete provides the most robust, quality research solution in areas related to communication and mass media. CMMC incorporates the content of CommSearch (formerly produced by the National Communication Association) and Mass Media Articles Index (formerly produced by Penn State) along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource of unprecedented scope and depth encompassing the breadth of the communication discipline. CMMC offers cover-to-cover (“core”) indexing and abstracts for more than 500 journals, and selected (“priority”) coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of 690 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for 380 journals. Many major journals have indexing, abstracts, PDFs and searchable cited references from their first issues to the present (dating as far back as 1915). CMMC contains a sophisticated Communication Thesaurus and comprehensive reference browsing (i.e. searchable cited references for peer-reviewed journals covered as “core”). (EBSCO)

Communication Abstracts, 1977- .
Communication Abstracts, edited by Karen Cristiano at Drexel University in Philadelphia, PA and published by SAGE Publications, is a comprehensive source of information about communication-related publications on a world-wide scale. Communication Abstracts covers communication-related articles, reports, papers, and books from a variety of publishers, research institutions, and information sources. Coverage includes not only communication literature but also literature in other disciplines that is relevant to communication researchers. Communication Abstracts also covers the international literature in film studies, the role of technology in human communications, risk communication, crisis communication and public opinions. (ProQuest)
 

Library Instructor

Profile ImageJohn Stierman


Online Chat / Networks:

Contact Info:
219 Leslie F. Malpass Library
1 University Circle
Western Illinois University
Macomb, IL 61455
309-298-2756 (xt. 5)
Send Email

Subjects:
US history, nutrition, information literacy

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait