This is the "Legislative Resources" page of the "Government Information Sources for History" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
WIU Library Links WIU Library Home Comments Site Map Library Hours My Account Comments
Admin Sign In 

Government Information Sources for History 

This guide provides links and information on government information resources that can be used to look for information related to cultural history.
Last update: Sep 25th, 2008 URL: http://wiu.libguides.com/HIS301  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Legislative Resources             Print Page
  
 

Indexes & Databases

The WIU Libraries subscribe to a number of indexes that can be used to find U.S. Government information, including articles in scholarly journals, popular magazines, and newspapers, books, and government publications. Indexes can be found by clicking on the Select a Database link on the Libraries' web site. This site also includes links to free indexes and databases with legislative information related to history. To find information in these indexes, search for terms that describe your topic of interest.

 
 

Indexes & Databases

U.S. Code - general and permanent laws of the United States.

Statutes at Large - laws and resolutions passed by Congress. Available for the first 43 Congresses (1789 - 1875) online (can browse or search for a statute online).

Statutes at Large - laws and resolutions passed by Congress. Available online from 1989 to present through the Library of Congress. Some volumes are also available in print in Government Information, 4th Floor, Malpass Library.

Congressional Record - Available online from 1994 to the present. 1985 - Present also available through LexisNexis Congressional.

LexisNexis Congressional - Index to information from the U.S. Congress, including hearings, Committee Prints, CRS Reports, House and Senate Documents, Reports, Treaty information, legislative histories and the Serial Set. Some full text available.

Congressional Research Service - produces reports for the U.S. Congress. Sites providing free access to CRS Reports include:


 

 

For more information contact:

Linda Zellmer
Contact Info:
Government Information & Data Services Librarian
Malpass Library 415
309-298-2723
Send Email

Subjects:
Maps, Geographic Information Systems (GIS), GIS Data, Geology, Geography, Agriculture, Statistical Data

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait