Bird's eye view of the city of Rock Island, Rock Island County, Illinois, 1869 from the Library of Congress' Digital Map Collections.
Map of Illinois constructed from the surveys in the General Land Office and other documents by John Melish, 1820 from the David Rumsey Collection. Note that it shows the Military Tract west of the Illinois River.
This guide has been developed to provide information on resources that might be useful in Public History research. It provides information on searching WestCat and I-Share, indexes that can be used to locate information about Public History and links to digital and other collections that might be useful in doing research about the history of a particular place or topic.
If you have any questions or need assistance, please ask at the Main Reference Desk (2nd Floor, Malpass Library), the Government Publications Information Desk (4th Floor, Malpass Library) or the Quad Cities Library. The Libraries also provide assistance via e-mail.
Illinois History - this Library Guide provides links to and information about resources related to Illinois history.
The Civil War - this Library Guide provides links to and information about resources related to Illinois during the Civil War.
The University Archives is a repository for local government records in the 16 counties of West-Central Illinois. It also contains University records and materials related to the West-Central Illinois Region. It is located on 6th Floor of Malpass Library and is open from 8:00 AM to 4:30 PM Monday - Friday.
William (Bill) Cook gave part of the Library presentation for the class. You can reach him in Archives 309-298-2717, or his WIU e-mail: WL-Cook.
