Biological Sciences: Dictionaries & Glossaries

An online glossary of biochemistry terms from the University of California Museum of Paleontology.

The National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) has developed a handbook, which includes a glossary of terms related to biotechnology.

Allaby, Michael, editor. A dictionary of plant sciences [E-Book]. New York: Oxford University Press; 1998.

National Agricultural Library and Inter-American Institute for Cooperation on Agriculture, 2017. [National Agriculture Library] Glossary 2017 Edition. Bethesda, MD: National Agriculture Library. Accessed August 1, 2017.

A publication from the Food & Agriculture Organization of the United Nations that provides information on terms related to food, nutrition, agriculture, fisheries, forestry and the environment in 23 languages.

An online glossary of botanical terms from the University of California Museum of Paleontology.

A botanical dictionary with over 21,000 botanical terms containing the history and origin of each term and its pronunciation.

An online glossary based on the glossary in Plants of the Chicago Region, by Swink and Wilhelm (1994). It also includes plates from the volume that show plant structures.

Southern Forest Resource Assessment, U.S. Department of Agriculture. Glossary of [Forestry] Terms. [Asheville, NC?]: U.S. Department of Agriculture, Forest Service. Accessed May 28, 2015.

An online dictionary of terms related to the biology of trees, developed and provided by an arboriculture company.

Medina, Alvin L., 1988. An English-Spanish Glossary of Terminology used in Forestry, Range, Wildlife, Fishery, Soils and Botany. Fort Collins, CO: Rocky Mountain Forest & Range Experiment Station, United States Forest Service. (PDF File).
A dictionary of terms in forestry, range and wildlife management, botany and soils published by the Rocky Mountain Forest & Range Experiment Station of the US Forest Service.

An updated, free, version of a print dictionary that was published in 1995. It contains definitions of and references to information on cytokines and molecular biology.

An online glossary related to cell biology from the University of California Museum of Paleontology.

Allaby, Michael, editor. A dictionary of ecology [E-Book]. New York: Oxford University Press. 1998.

An online glossary of terms related to ecology from the University of California Museum of Paleontology.

Dhooria, M. S. Ane's encyclopedic dictionary of general & applied entomology [E-Book]. Dordrecht: Springer; 2009.

Rédei, G. P. Encyclopedia of genetics, genomics, proteomics, and informatics [E-Book]. [New York?]: Springer; 2008.

An online glossary of terms in genetics developed by the National Human Genome Research Institute that provides explanations of terms related to genetics developed by scientists at the National Institutes of Health.

An online dictionary of over 13,000 terms related to invertebrate zoology, including parasitology, nematology, marine invertebrates, insects, and the anatomy, biology, and reproductive processes for invertebrates. It includes information on word origins and derivations and taxonomic classification.

A brief glossary of terms related to microbiology sponsored by the Society for General Microbiology.

A technical glossary from the University of California Museum of Paleontology.

Allaby, Michael, editor. A dictionary of zoology [E-Book]. New York: Oxford University Press; 1999.

An online dictionary of terms in zoology from the University of California Museum of Paleontology.