WIU Library Links WIU Library Home Comments Site Map Library Hours My Account Comments
Admin Sign In 

Agriculture: A Guide to Selected Library Resources 

This guide provides information on indexes and databases, government and intergovernmental information sources, finding books and other publications, reference works and sources of statistical information related to agriculture.
Last update: Sep 10th, 2009 URL: http://wiu.libguides.com/agriculture  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Finding Articles             Print Page
  
 

Indexes & Databases

The WIU Libraries subscribe to a number of indexes that can be used to find agriculture-related information, including articles in scholarly journals, popular magazines, and newspapers, books, and government publications. Indexes can be found by clicking on the Select a Database link on the Libraries' web site. These indexes can be useful in locating agricultural information. To find information in these indexes, search for terms that describe your topic of interest.

 
 

Indexes & Databases

AGRICULTURE INDEXES & DATABASES - these indexes can be used to find articles related to a wide range of agricultural publications, including journal articles, government publications and other resources.

Agricola – Agricola is the online catalog of the National Agriculture Library. It contains information on articles in scholarly journals, government publications and other resources. Includes links to some full-text publications. Some full can be found using the Find It button. To find a subject term on a particular topic, see the Agricola Thesaurus.

Agricola at the National Agriculture Library – This version of Agricola is available for free from the National Agriculture Library (NAL). Books and government publications are in one database, while journal articles are in another, each of which must be searched separately. Some older government publications are available digitally through the NAL version of Agricola, while they may only be available as Microfiche in WestCat, I-Share or the other version of the index.

ADEC E-Answers - An index to over 250,000 publications from agriculture extension offices and experiment stations.

Biological and Agricultural Index – An index to articles in 225 journals. Includes some full-text articles. Full text can also be found using the Find It button.

Biological Abstracts – An index to articles in over 4000 journals. Full text can also be found using the Find It button.

BUSINESS INDEXES & DATABASES - these indexes can be used to find articles related to agribusiness.

Business Source Elite – An index to articles related to business, including agribusiness. Includes some full-text access to journal articles.

ABI/INFORM – An index to over 2,000 business journals, including over 1,500 full-text journals.

GENERAL INDEXES & DATABASES - these indexes include information on articles in magazines and some scholarly journals.

LexisNexis Academic – Full-text access to articles in newspapers, magazines and legal periodicals.

Academic Search Premier – An index to articles in popular and scholarly periodicals. Includes some full-text articles. Full text can also be found using the Find It button.

Science Citation Index - An index to scientific journals in all areas of the sciences (2004 - Present).

 

For more information contact:

Linda Zellmer
Contact Info:
Government Information & Data Services Librarian
Malpass Library 415
309-298-2723
Send Email

Subjects:
Maps, Geographic Information Systems (GIS), GIS Data, Geology, Geography, Agriculture, Statistical Data

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait