This is the "Searching" page of the "Academic Search Premier" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
WIU Library Links Western Illinois University Libraries Western Illinois University WIU Knowledge Base

Academic Search Premier  

Academic Search Premier is an excellent source of scholarly journals in all academic disciplines. More than 8,000 journals are indexed and full text is provided for more than 4500.
Last Updated: Jun 22, 2011 URL: http://wiu.libguides.com/asp Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Searching Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

EBSCO

EBSCO Logo

EBSCO is the tool you'll use to search this database. It's the largest subscription agency in the world and provides access to a wide variety of databases. You will see this logo quite often when searching library databases.

 

What's covered?

The Academic Search Premier content covers areas including:

  • business
  • social sciences
  • humanities
  • general academic
  • general science and education.

Most are peer reviewed. Searchable cited references are provided for selected titles.

Coverage: 4,700 full-text journals; 8,200 scholarly journals (index/abstracts)
Years:
dates vary
Scholarly Articles?
selected
Fulltext Articles?
selected
Off-campus Access:
Yes
Persistent Article Links?
Yes
Vendor/Publisher:
EBSCO

 

Search Strategies

The articles are arranged by subjects using a thesaurus of terms developed by the database publisher, similar to how the library catalog uses the Library of Congress Subject Headings. It is also organized by keywords supplied by the authors.The default search is by keyword. You can also search by a number of fields including title, author, journal source, and other information.

Screen shot of the Advanced search interface.The easiest way to search is to use the Advanced Search to form a search string on your topic. Start with a question, the break the question into the most relevant nouns, and put them in individual blanks. Put phrases in the same blank. Academic Search Premier has a built in phrase search that is pretty efficient, but it's a good idea to use quotes anyway as a general practice for using database phrase searching because it varies from tool to tool, and is not always exact without them. For example, if you perform a search with and without quotes, you will usually notice you get a few less results when quotes are used. Adjust the Boolean terms at the ends of the search blanks to broaden or narrow your search.

A screen shot of the Academic Search Premier search interface.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip