Library Guides - Browse All Guides
Browse guides alphabetically, by subject, or by librarian
Jump To: A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Z | #A
Academic Search Premier
by Justin Georges
- Last Updated Jun 22, 2011
Academic Search Premier is an excellent source of scholarly journals in all academic disciplines. More than 8,000 journals are indexed and full text is provided for more than 4500.
African American Studies
by John Stierman
- Last Updated Oct 3, 2011
Department Research Guides identify and define standard information retrieval tools for a specific department. Each guide was created and is maintained by the library liaison for that department. We encourage you to recommend resources for the guides.
AGR340
by Linda Zellmer
- Last Updated Jan 24, 2012
This guide provides information on indexes and databases, government and intergovernmental information sources, finding books and other publications, reference works and sources of statistical information related to agriculture.
Agriculture
by Linda Zellmer
- Last Updated May 8, 2012
This guide contains links to resources for Western Illinois University students, faculty and staff looking for information related to agriculture. It contains links to library and other resources related to all aspects of agriculture.
AGRN 374 - Plant Disease Information Guide
by Linda Zellmer
- Last Updated Feb 1, 2012
This guide provides links to resources that can be used to research information about crop diseases. It includes indexes and databases, reference sources and links to government information on plant diseases.
Art
by Rod Sharpe
- Last Updated Aug 24, 2011
Department Research Guides identify and define standard information retrieval tools for a specific department. Each guide was created and is maintained by the library liaison for that department. We encourage you to recommend resources for the guides.
B
Biological Sciences
by Linda Zellmer, Kathleen Clauson
- Last Updated Jan 25, 2012
Department Research Guides identify and define standard information retrieval tools for a specific department. Each guide was created and is maintained by the library liaison for that department. We encourage you to recommend resources for the guides.
Borrowing Materials
by Justin Georges
- Last Updated Apr 24, 2012
This guide describes I-Share and Interlibrary Loan and how they work with other libraries statewide and worldwide to acquire (for WIU faculty, staff and students) items not found on Western Illinois University Library shelves.
Broadcasting
by Brian Clark
- Last Updated Apr 29, 2010
Department Research Guides identify and define standard information retrieval tools for a specific department. Each guide was created and is maintained by the library liaison for that department. We encourage you to recommend resources for the guides.
C
Choosing your sources
by Mahrya Carncross
- Last Updated May 16, 2012
With so much information available, it's hard to decide which sources to use. This guide will introduce you to the basics of evaluating your information sources.
Citing your Sources
by Mahrya Carncross
- Last Updated May 2, 2012
This guide covers the basics of citing sources. Why do we cite? When should you cite? How should you do it? Find answers to these questions here.
Comm 330
by Rod Sharpe
- Last Updated Oct 18, 2011
Language and Communication - Bailey - March 10, 2011
Communication
by Brian Clark
- Last Updated Nov 22, 2011
Department Research Guides identify and define standard information retrieval tools for a specific department. Each guide was created and is maintained by the library liaison for that department. We encourage you to recommend resources for the guides.
Communication Sciences & Disorders
by Brian Clark
- Last Updated Jan 19, 2012
Department Research Guides identify and define standard information retrieval tools for a specific department. Each guide was created and is maintained by the library liaison for that department. We encourage you to recommend resources for the guides.
Copyright Resources at WIU
by Eddie Torrez
- Last Updated May 23, 2011
This guide focuses on resources regarding copyright, fair use, and the TEACH Act. Also included are case scenarios. This guide was created by Peggy West (Center for Innovation in Teaching and Research) and Andrea Falcone (University Libraries).
Course Reserves
by Justin Georges
- Last Updated Nov 23, 2011
This can sometimes be referred to as electronic reserves (ERes) and provide online access through a password protected web page to library materials placed on reserve by instructors for students enrolled in their courses.
Curriculum and Instruction
by John Stierman, Mahrya Carncross
- Last Updated Oct 3, 2011
This subject guide identifies and defines standard information retrieval tools and resources for a specific subject. Each guide was created to provide information about each subject, as well as assist with research related to this subject.
D
Dietetics, Fashion Merchandising & Hospitality
by John Stierman
- Last Updated Oct 3, 2011
Department Research Guides identify and define standard information retrieval tools for a specific department. Each guide was created and is maintained by the library liaison for that department. We encourage you to recommend resources for the guides.
Drug Legalization Debate
by Andrea Francis
- Last Updated Feb 4, 2011
A Guide to Selected Government and Legal Information Available at WIU's Government, Legal, Spatial and Data Services Library.
E
East Japan Earthquake
by Linda Zellmer
- Last Updated Mar 29, 2011
This guide contains links to information sources on the East Japan (Tohoku) earthquake & tsunami, which struck March 11, 2011. It contains links to information on earthquakes and tsunamis, Japan, U.S. & Japanese embassies and other government agencies.
EIS 500
by Sean Cordes
- Last Updated Sep 16, 2010
A guide to research in the field of Education, Interdisciplinary Studies, and Educational Leadership
Engineering Technology
by Chuck Malone
- Last Updated Mar 22, 2012
Department Research Guides identify and define standard information retrieval tools for a specific department. Each guide was created and is maintained by the library liaison for that department. We encourage you to recommend resources for the guides.
English & Journalism
by William Thompson
- Last Updated May 18, 2010
Department Research Guides identify and define standard information retrieval tools for a specific department. Each guide was created and is maintained by the library liaison for that department. We encourage you to recommend resources for the guides.
EOS 377
by Chuck Malone
- Last Updated Jan 30, 2012
Environmental and Occupational Safety 377 library workshop on OSHA
F
Finding Place Name Information
by Linda Zellmer
- Last Updated Mar 13, 2012
This guide contains links to online gazetteers and atlases that can be used to find information on the places and their location. It contains links to resources on the United States, individual states, countries and the World.
Foreign Languages & Literature
by Krista Bowers-Sharpe
- Last Updated May 10, 2011
Department Research Guides identify and define standard information retrieval tools for a specific department. Each guide was created and is maintained by the library liaison for that department. We encourage you to recommend resources for the guides.
G
Geography
by Linda Zellmer
- Last Updated Jan 23, 2012
This guide contains links to information sources related to all aspects of the geography for Western Illinois University students, faculty and staff. In order to assist with research related to geography, this guide will grow and change as needed.
Geology
by Linda Zellmer
- Last Updated Apr 23, 2012
This guide contains links to resources for Western Illinois University students, faculty and staff looking for geoscience information. It contains links to library and other resources related to all aspects of the geosciences.
H
Health Sciences
by Dean Howd
- Last Updated Sep 30, 2010
Department Research Guides identify and define standard information retrieval tools for a specific department. Each guide was created and is maintained by the library liaison for that department. We encourage you to recommend resources for the guides.
HTML5
by Justin Georges
- Last Updated Dec 10, 2010
This guide contains information about HTML5 and will serve as an introduction to this topic.
I
Instructional Design & Technology
by Jeff Hancks, John Stierman
- Last Updated Aug 24, 2011
Department Research Guides identify and define standard information retrieval tools for a specific department. Each guide was created and is maintained by the library liaison for that department. We encourage you to recommend resources for the guides.
J
K
Kinesiology
by Dean Howd
- Last Updated Feb 10, 2011
Department Research Guides identify and define standard information retrieval tools for a specific department. Each guide was created and is maintained by the library liaison for that department. We encourage you to recommend resources for the guides.
L
Law Enforcement and Justice Administration
by Chuck Malone
- Last Updated Jan 30, 2012
Government and Legal Information Unit Links, Specialized Databases, Government Agencies, Specialized Publications, and 2-page Hot Topic Guides related to Law Enforcement, Justice Administration, Legal Reference, and Crime Statistics
Library Catalog
by Justin Georges
- Last Updated Feb 17, 2012
This guide will introduce you to the library catalog, what they are, how they came to be, how they have changed, and how to use them to perform basic and advanced searches by title, author, subject heading, and keywords that search every record area.
Looking for Lincoln
by Linda Zellmer
- Last Updated Oct 8, 2010
This is a guide to finding information on Abraham Lincoln. It includes information on how to find books, journal articles, links to digital collections in Illinois and the U.S., U.S. Government Publications, Educational Resources and a list Lincoln books.
M
Management & Marketing
by Jeanne Stierman
- Last Updated May 10, 2012
This guide identifies some standard MGT, MKTG, and SCM resources available at the WIU Libraries and beyond. The guide is a work in progress, so I welcome suggestions regarding content, organization, or presentation.
My Account
by Justin Georges
- Last Updated Sep 20, 2011
With My Account you can track and store personal information about titles you have checked out from the WIU libraries or requested from I-Share. You can also find item due dates and request renewals.
N
Nursing
by Dean Howd
- Last Updated Nov 23, 2011
WIU Library Resource Guide for Nursing
O
P
Physics
by Linda Zellmer, Kathleen Clauson
- Last Updated Oct 26, 2011
Department Research Guides identify and define information resources for a specific department. Each guide was created and is maintained by the library liaison for that department. We encourage you to recommend resources for the guides.
Political Science
by William Thompson
- Last Updated May 3, 2010
Department Research Guides identify and define standard information retrieval tools for a specific department. Each guide was created and is maintained by the library liaison for that department. We encourage you to recommend resources for the guides.
R
Recreation, Park & Tourism Administration
by John Stierman
- Last Updated Nov 23, 2011
Department Research Guides identify and define standard information retrieval tools for a specific department. Each guide was created and is maintained by the library liaison for that department. We encourage you to recommend resources for the guides.
S
Simple Web Site Navigation
by Justin Georges
- Last Updated Jun 22, 2011
This guide will provide helpful information for how to navigate and locate information within a consumer health web site. This guide using the health information site 'Medline Plus' as an example for locating health information.
Social Work
by Dean Howd
- Last Updated Jul 23, 2010
Department Research Guides identify and define standard information retrieval tools for a specific department. Each guide was created and is maintained by the library liaison for that department. We encourage you to recommend resources for the guides.
Social Work 425
by Chuck Malone
- Last Updated Sep 15, 2011
A Library Workshop on Illinois Agencies and their Regulations, and Federal Funding Sources
Sociology & Anthropology
by Krista Bowers-Sharpe
- Last Updated May 10, 2011
Department Research Guides identify and define standard information retrieval tools for a specific department. Each guide was created and is maintained by the library liaison for that department. We encourage you to recommend resources for the guides.
Special Education
by John Stierman
- Last Updated Jan 31, 2012
Department Research Guides identify and define standard information retrieval tools for a specific department. Each guide was created and is maintained by the library liaison for that department. We encourage you to recommend resources for the guides.
Sustainability Brownbaggers
by Justin Georges, Sean Cordes
- Last Updated Mar 21, 2012
The Illinois Institute for Rural Affairs (IIRA), housed at Western Illinois University, will once again sponsor a series of Sustainability Brownbaggers lunch-time conversation events.
T
Tax Forms & Information
by Linda Zellmer, Andrea Francis, Chuck Malone
- Last Updated Jan 30, 2012
This guide provides a list of the Federal & Illinois Tax forms, instructions and schedules available in the WIU Libraries. It also provides links to and telephone numbers for the IRS so that people can request or download forms that are not available.
The Civil War
by Linda Zellmer
- Last Updated Apr 5, 2012
This guide contains links to resources related to the U.S. Civil War and Illinois during the Civil War. It contains information on finding books, articles and government publications on the War and information on Civil War related Digital Collections.
U
UrInfo
by Tammy Sayles
- Last Updated Apr 29, 2012
This is a collaborative project from ILA's ILEAD U 2011.
V
W
Women's Studies
by Krista Bowers-Sharpe
- Last Updated May 10, 2011
Department Research Guides identify and define standard information retrieval tools for a specific department. Each guide was created and is maintained by the library liaison for that department. We encourage you to recommend resources for the guides.
Z
#
21st Century Literacy
by Sean Cordes
- Last Updated Jun 14, 2010
Guide describing the areas, vision, organizations, and resources for developing 21st Century Literacy (21C) programs.