WIU Library Links Western Illinois University Libraries Western Illinois University WIU Knowledge Base
Library Guides - Browse All Guides
Browse guides alphabetically, by subject, or by librarian


  Search: 
 
Jump To:  A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | V | W | Z | #

A
AAS 281-Literature of the Black World (Boukari)
by Sean Cordes - Last Updated Mar 28, 2013
Session on how to located movie reviews.
AAS Guides-Watkins-SP 12
by Sean Cordes - Last Updated Jan 30, 2012
Guides for African American Studies Updated Spring 2012
Academic Search Premier
by Justin Georges - Last Updated Jun 22, 2011
Academic Search Premier is an excellent source of scholarly journals in all academic disciplines. More than 8,000 journals are indexed and full text is provided for more than 4500.
Access World News
by Justin Georges - Last Updated Mar 5, 2012
Accounting & Finance
by Jeanne Stierman - Last Updated Feb 25, 2013
ACCT 455/551
by Jeanne Stierman - Last Updated Aug 29, 2011
Advanced Management Accounting
African American Studies
by John Stierman - Last Updated Jun 7, 2012
Department Research Guides identify and define standard information retrieval tools for a specific department. Each guide was created and is maintained by the library liaison for that department. We encourage you to recommend resources for the guides.
Aging Resources
by Andrea Francis - Last Updated Nov 5, 2008
A Guide to Government and Legal Resources on Aging and the Elderly.
Agriculture
by Linda Zellmer - Last Updated Jan 22, 2013
This guide contains links to resources for Western Illinois University students, faculty and staff looking for information related to agriculture. It contains links to library and other resources related to all aspects of agriculture.
AGRN 374 - Plant Disease Information Guide
by Linda Zellmer - Last Updated Jan 23, 2013
This guide provides links to resources that can be used to research information about crop diseases. It includes indexes and databases, reference sources and links to government information on plant diseases.
ANSC415 - Beef Production
by Linda Zellmer - Last Updated Jan 28, 2013
This guide contains links to information sources that can be used for research on beef production
ANTH 110 (McIlvaine-Newsad)
by Krista Bowers-Sharpe - Last Updated Apr 16, 2013
Yoga as Medicine
ANTH 305
by Krista Bowers-Sharpe - Last Updated Aug 7, 2012
Anthropological Research Methods
Argumentative Essay
by Sean Cordes - Last Updated Aug 10, 2012
Art
by Rod Sharpe - Last Updated Apr 1, 2013
Department Research Guides identify and define standard information retrieval tools for a specific department. Each guide was created and is maintained by the library liaison for that department. We encourage you to recommend resources for the guides.
Art of Mapping: Maps as Art
by Linda Zellmer - Last Updated Dec 6, 2012
This guide contains links to the maps shown in the Art of Maps: Maps as Art talk by Linda Zellmer
Art394
by Sean Cordes - Last Updated Feb 22, 2012
ARTH 394 (Morgan)
by Krista Bowers-Sharpe - Last Updated Sep 20, 2012
Twentieth-Century Art / Fall 2012
Avon/Abingdon H.S.
by Sean Cordes - Last Updated Feb 9, 2012
B
Banned and Challenged Books
by Krista Bowers-Sharpe - Last Updated Sep 25, 2012
BC 102 Garcia
by Brian Clark - Last Updated Jan 23, 2013
BC 102 Garcia
Biological Sciences
by Kathleen Clauson, Linda Zellmer - Last Updated Aug 2, 2012
Department Research Guides identify and define standard information retrieval tools for a specific department. Each guide was created and is maintained by the library liaison for that department. We encourage you to recommend resources for the guides.
Biology 100 - Researching Science
by Linda Zellmer - Last Updated Feb 25, 2013
This guide contains links to information resources that can be used to research topics in the Sciences.
Biology 470-Holt
by William Thompson - Last Updated Jun 9, 2010
Biology 470
Broadcasting
by Brian Clark - Last Updated Apr 29, 2010
Department Research Guides identify and define standard information retrieval tools for a specific department. Each guide was created and is maintained by the library liaison for that department. We encourage you to recommend resources for the guides.
Broadcasting 136 Hitchcock
by Brian Clark - Last Updated Feb 5, 2013
Broadcasting 136 Hitchcock
C
Cause and Effect Papers
by Sean Cordes - Last Updated Oct 12, 2008
A guide for writing the cause and effect essay.
Choosing your sources
by Mahrya Carncross - Last Updated Aug 22, 2012
With so much information available, it's hard to decide which sources to use. This guide will introduce you to the basics of evaluating your information sources.
Citation Builders
by Mahrya Carncross - Last Updated May 2, 2012
You don't need to create your citations from scratch! Use this guide to find out more.
Citing Bibliographic Sources: APA
by John Stierman - Last Updated Apr 15, 2011
An introduction to the most popular guide for the social sciences.
Citing Bibliographic Sources: Chicago
by John Stierman - Last Updated Apr 4, 2011
A Popular Style Manual in the Humanities
Citing Bibliographic Sources: MLA
by John Stierman - Last Updated Aug 24, 2010
The Recommended Style Manual for English Majors
Citing Sources-Whys and Hows
by Sean Cordes - Last Updated Nov 23, 2011
Brief guide on why and how we create citations and bibliographies.
Citing your Sources
by Mahrya Carncross - Last Updated Jun 27, 2012
This guide covers the basics of citing sources. Why do we cite? When should you cite? How should you do it? Find answers to these questions here.
Class Guides
by Sean Cordes - Last Updated Sep 7, 2010
COMM 241 (Bailey)
by Rod Sharpe - Last Updated Feb 16, 2012
Introduction to Public Speaking
Comm 330
by Krista Bowers-Sharpe, Rod Sharpe - Last Updated Feb 26, 2013
Language and Communication - Bailey - February 27, 2013
Communication
by Brian Clark - Last Updated Nov 22, 2011
Department Research Guides identify and define standard information retrieval tools for a specific department. Each guide was created and is maintained by the library liaison for that department. We encourage you to recommend resources for the guides.
COMMUNICATION 130 - RIDLE BY JEFF MATLAK
by Jeff Matlak - Last Updated Sep 16, 2009
How to find almost everything
Communication Sciences & Disorders
by Brian Clark - Last Updated Jan 19, 2012
Department Research Guides identify and define standard information retrieval tools for a specific department. Each guide was created and is maintained by the library liaison for that department. We encourage you to recommend resources for the guides.
Company Research
by Jeanne Stierman - Last Updated Jan 22, 2013
Complex Pagination in Word 2010
by Justin Georges, William Thompson - Last Updated Sep 7, 2012
How to do complex pagination using section breaks and delinking in Word 2010
Computer Sciences
by Mahrya Carncross - Last Updated Sep 4, 2012
This guide lists key resources for getting started with computer sciences research.
Confined Animal Feeding Operations
by Linda Zellmer - Last Updated Jul 19, 2011
Information resources on confined (concentrated) animal feeding operations and factory farming.
Copyright Resources at WIU
by Eddie Torrez - Last Updated Aug 16, 2012
This guide focuses on resources regarding copyright, fair use, and the TEACH Act. Also included are case scenarios. This guide was created by Peggy West (Center for Innovation in Teaching and Research) and Andrea Falcone (University Libraries).
Course Reserves
by Justin Georges - Last Updated May 30, 2012
This can sometimes be referred to as electronic reserves (ERes) and provide online access through a password protected web page to library materials placed on reserve by instructors for students enrolled in their courses.
CQ Researcher
by Justin Georges - Last Updated Jun 22, 2011
CSD 312 - Dalmasso
by Brian Clark - Last Updated Nov 2, 2012
CSD 384 Quesal
by Brian Clark - Last Updated Jan 18, 2013
CSD 384 Quesal
CSD 501 - Quesal
by Brian Clark - Last Updated Aug 27, 2012
Curriculum and Instruction
by Mahrya Carncross - Last Updated Sep 5, 2012
This subject guide identifies and defines standard information retrieval tools and resources for a specific subject. Each guide was created to provide information about each subject, as well as assist with research related to this subject.
D
Dietetics, Fashion Merchandising & Hospitality
by John Stierman - Last Updated Sep 4, 2012
Department Research Guides identify and define standard information retrieval tools for a specific department. Each guide was created and is maintained by the library liaison for that department. We encourage you to recommend resources for the guides.
Do-It-Yourself Technology Tools
by Justin Georges - Last Updated Jan 4, 2013
A variety of free digital tools on the web that will help promote exceptional e-learning.
Doing Literature Reviews
by Sean Cordes - Last Updated Jun 4, 2012
A guide for doing literature reviews using the example of Recreation, Parks, and Tourism Administration
Dr. Linda Godwin presents Life in Low Earth Orbit
by Tammy Sayles - Last Updated Mar 6, 2012
This guide is an educational supplement to the lecture given by Dr. Linda Godwin, retired NASA astronaut, on Wednesday, March 7, 2012.
Drug Legalization Debate
by Andrea Francis - Last Updated Feb 4, 2011
A Guide to Selected Government and Legal Information Available at WIU's Government, Legal, Spatial and Data Services Library.
E
Economics & Decision Sciences
by Jeanne Stierman - Last Updated Sep 24, 2012
EDL 640
by Sean Cordes - Last Updated Feb 27, 2012
The Educational Executive
EDL 671-Kilmer
by Sean Cordes - Last Updated Mar 26, 2012
EDL 711 Kilmer
by Brian Clark - Last Updated Mar 2, 2012
EDL 711 Kilmer
EDL660-Watkins
by Sean Cordes - Last Updated Feb 25, 2012
EIS 500
by Sean Cordes - Last Updated Sep 16, 2010
A guide to research in the field of Education, Interdisciplinary Studies, and Educational Leadership
ENG 100 (Knox)
by Sean Cordes, Jeanne Stierman - Last Updated Oct 15, 2012
ENG 180 (Black)
by Jeanne Stierman - Last Updated Oct 24, 2012
ENG 180 (Bollin)
by Jeanne Stierman - Last Updated Feb 26, 2013
ENG 180 (Iwanicki)
by Krista Bowers-Sharpe - Last Updated Oct 17, 2012
College Writing I / October 17, 2012
Eng 180 - Hutinger
by Sean Cordes - Last Updated Nov 8, 2011
Eng 180 - Rose
by Sean Cordes - Last Updated Sep 25, 2010
Guide to basic ideas and resources for developing opinion papers.
Eng 180 Clothier
by Brian Clark - Last Updated Mar 26, 2013
Eng 180 Hagstrom-Schmidt
by Brian Clark - Last Updated Mar 26, 2013
ENG 180 Lovelace
by Daneen Richardson - Last Updated Mar 19, 2013
Eng 180 Ortiz
by Brian Clark - Last Updated Mar 20, 2013
ENG 180 Popp
by Brian Clark - Last Updated Jan 31, 2013
ENG 180 Popp
Eng 180 Porter
by Sean Cordes - Last Updated Mar 7, 2013
Basic information for doing the College Composition I research paper, including including information about (1) the databases available on the library website (2) types of sources, (3) evaluating sources.
Eng 180 Scadden
by Brian Clark - Last Updated Mar 18, 2013
ENG 180 Schroeder
by Daneen Richardson - Last Updated Mar 19, 2013
Eng 180 Trias
by Sean Cordes - Last Updated Sep 12, 2011
ENG 180 Westermeyer
by Brian Clark - Last Updated Mar 4, 2013
ENG 180 Westermeyer
ENG 180-College Composition I (Runge)
by Sean Cordes - Last Updated Apr 8, 2013
Library session to provide information for composition paper using peer reviewed and other materials.
Eng 280-Balderson-FA10-2pm and 3:30 Pm
by Sean Cordes - Last Updated Oct 19, 2010
ENG 280: English Composition II (Wort)
by Mahrya Carncross, Sean Cordes, William Thompson - Last Updated Feb 15, 2013
This guide provides links information to help students prepare for their first paper this semester.
ENG/COM (Norton)
by Jeanne Stierman - Last Updated Oct 3, 2012
Engineering Technology
by Chuck Malone - Last Updated Aug 8, 2012
Department Research Guides identify and define standard information retrieval tools for a specific department. Each guide was created and is maintained by the library liaison for that department. We encourage you to recommend resources for the guides.
English & Journalism
by Mahrya Carncross, William Thompson - Last Updated Nov 5, 2012
Department Research Guides identify and define standard information retrieval tools for a specific department. Each guide was created and is maintained by the library liaison for that department. We encourage you to recommend resources for the guides.
English 180 Schroeder
by Brian Clark - Last Updated Oct 16, 2012
English 180 Wherley
by John Stierman - Last Updated Mar 22, 2013
English 280 Barclay
by John Stierman - Last Updated Apr 3, 2013
F
Fashion 474: Company Information
by John Stierman - Last Updated Mar 7, 2013
Fashion 474: Industry Research
by John Stierman - Last Updated Mar 4, 2013
FCS 304 McCallister / Richardson
by Daneen Richardson - Last Updated Feb 7, 2013
Library instruction
FCS 408: Community Nutrition
by Chuck Malone, John Stierman - Last Updated Mar 26, 2013
Find a Journal
by Mahrya Carncross - Last Updated Apr 9, 2013
This guide will help you find full-text articles from a particular publication.
Finding International Information
by Andrea Francis - Last Updated Apr 10, 2013
This research guide includes major web and print resources.
Finding Media On the Web
by Justin Georges - Last Updated Jan 4, 2013
This guide will assist you when finding royalty free and other media resources on the web.
Finding Place Name Information
by Linda Zellmer - Last Updated Aug 7, 2012
This guide contains links to online gazetteers and atlases that can be used to find information on the places and their location. It contains links to resources on the United States, individual states, countries and the World.
Finding Test and Survey Instruments @ WIU
by Krista Bowers-Sharpe - Last Updated Feb 3, 2011
How to locate educational and psychological tests and surveys to use for your research project.
Foreign Languages & Literature
by Krista Bowers-Sharpe - Last Updated Aug 22, 2012
Department Research Guides identify and define standard information retrieval tools for a specific department. Each guide was created and is maintained by the library liaison for that department. We encourage you to recommend resources for the guides.
G
GEOG 110 - World Regional Geography
by Linda Zellmer - Last Updated Aug 6, 2012
This guide provides information on resources that can be used to search for information on the World and countries of the World.
Geography
by Linda Zellmer - Last Updated Aug 3, 2012
This guide contains links to information sources related to all aspects of the geography for Western Illinois University students, faculty and staff. In order to assist with research related to geography, this guide will grow and change as needed.
Geology
by Linda Zellmer - Last Updated Aug 31, 2012
This guide contains links to resources for Western Illinois University students, faculty and staff looking for geoscience information. It contains links to library and other resources related to all aspects of the geosciences.
Geology 380 - Information Sources in Hydrology
by Linda Zellmer - Last Updated Aug 31, 2012
This guide provides links to information resources related to hydrology. It includes indexes that can be used to find books and maps, and links to government water agencies.
Getting Published: Choosing and Evaluating Journals
by Linda Zellmer - Last Updated Feb 14, 2013
This guide provides information on choosing and evaluating journals for possible publication.
Graduate Research
by Sean Cordes - Last Updated Sep 5, 2012
Guide to doing graduate level research.
Graphic Communication Resources at WIU Libraries
by Chuck Malone - Last Updated Aug 3, 2012
WIU Libraries' resources for the Graphic Communication Program of the Engineering Technology Department
Greek Life Library Guide
by Sean Cordes - Last Updated Feb 9, 2011
Growth in Electronic Reference
by Krista Bowers-Sharpe, Jeanne Stierman - Last Updated Apr 28, 2011
CARLI Public Services Working Group Site Visit Presentation / April 29, 2011
H
HE120 - Clerc
by Sean Cordes - Last Updated Feb 3, 2011
Health Sciences
by Daneen Richardson - Last Updated Jan 25, 2013
Department Research Guides identify and define standard information retrieval tools for a specific department. Each guide was created and is maintained by the library liaison for that department. We encourage you to recommend resources for the guides.
History 145: History of Asia
by John Stierman - Last Updated Feb 7, 2013
History 201: Historical Methods
by John Stierman - Last Updated Feb 14, 2013
History 300: Urban America
by John Stierman - Last Updated Jan 29, 2013
History 422G - Environmental History
by Linda Zellmer - Last Updated Feb 18, 2013
Information resources related to the history of the environment and environmental issues.
History 491: Slavery and Anti-Slavery
by John Stierman - Last Updated Feb 14, 2013
History Department Guide
by John Stierman - Last Updated Sep 7, 2012
Department Research Guides identify and define standard information retrieval tools for a specific department. Each guide was created and is maintained by the library liaison for that department. We encourage you to recommend resources for the guides.
HS 250 Medical Terminology
by Sean Cordes - Last Updated Feb 1, 2012
A guide focused on medical and terminology and how to use it to find and identify research case studies.
HS 412-Bezold
by Sean Cordes, Daneen Richardson - Last Updated Oct 25, 2012
HTML5
by Justin Georges - Last Updated Dec 10, 2010
This guide contains information about HTML5 and will serve as an introduction to this topic.
I
Illinois History
by Tom Finley, Jeff Hancks, Linda Zellmer - Last Updated Mar 20, 2013
This guide provides information on library resources that can be used to research topics related to Illinois History.
Industry Research
by Jeanne Stierman - Last Updated May 15, 2012
Information on Sustainability
by Linda Zellmer - Last Updated Jan 28, 2013
This guide provides information on Library resources related to sustainability.
InfoTrac (Expanded Academic Index)
by Justin Georges - Last Updated Jun 22, 2011
Instructional Design & Technology
by Jeff Hancks, John Stierman - Last Updated Jun 7, 2012
Department Research Guides identify and define standard information retrieval tools for a specific department. Each guide was created and is maintained by the library liaison for that department. We encourage you to recommend resources for the guides.
Interlibrary Loan
by Justin Georges - Last Updated May 15, 2013
This guide describes I-Share and Interlibrary Loan and how they work with other libraries statewide and worldwide to acquire (for WIU faculty, staff and students) items not found on Western Illinois University Library shelves.
International Student Guide
by Sean Cordes - Last Updated Aug 15, 2011
J
JOUR410 Tang
by Daneen Richardson - Last Updated Mar 19, 2013
JOURN-415
by Sean Cordes - Last Updated Oct 23, 2012
Media portrayal assignment
K
KIN 571 Kovacs
by Brian Clark - Last Updated Sep 4, 2012
Kinesiology
by Daneen Richardson - Last Updated Nov 13, 2012
Department Research Guides identify and define standard information retrieval tools for a specific department. Each guide was created and is maintained by the library liaison for that department. We encourage you to recommend resources for the guides.
Kinesiology 401
by John Stierman - Last Updated Feb 4, 2013
Kinesiology 543
by John Stierman - Last Updated Jan 26, 2013
Kinesiology 556
by Daneen Richardson - Last Updated Jan 29, 2013
L
Law Enforcement and Justice Administration
by Chuck Malone - Last Updated Aug 29, 2012
Government and Legal Information Unit Links, Specialized Databases, Government Agencies, Specialized Publications, and 2-page Hot Topic Guides related to Law Enforcement, Justice Administration, Legal Reference, and Crime Statistics
LEJA 101
by Jeanne Stierman - Last Updated Oct 31, 2012
Survey of Criminal Justice
LEJA 303
by Jeanne Stierman - Last Updated Oct 26, 2011
Quantitative Techniques for Law Enforcement
LEJA 306
by Sean Cordes, John Stierman - Last Updated Feb 3, 2012
LEJA 440
by Jeanne Stierman - Last Updated Jan 25, 2011
Current Issues in Policing
Let's Talk About It: Making Sense of the American Civil War
by Tammy Sayles - Last Updated Nov 19, 2012
Western Illinois University Libraries is one of 65 libraries nationwide receiving grants to host the series developed by the American Library Association and the National Endowment for the Humanities.
Lewistown H.S.
by Sean Cordes - Last Updated Nov 1, 2010
LIB 201-Periodicals and Databases-Pt 1
by Sean Cordes - Last Updated Feb 29, 2012
LIB301
by Sean Cordes - Last Updated Jan 14, 2011
LibGuides: Best Practice guide
by Sean Cordes, Justin Georges - Last Updated May 15, 2013
This guide will help you find resources about best practices, tips, and tricks for designing guides.
Library 101
by Sean Cordes - Last Updated Jul 13, 2011
Introduction to Library Materials and Services
Library Catalog
by Justin Georges - Last Updated May 13, 2013
This guide will introduce you to the library catalog, what they are, how they came to be, how they have changed, and how to use them to perform basic and advanced searches by title, author, subject heading, and keywords that search every record area.
Library Help
by Justin Georges - Last Updated Apr 26, 2013
This guide will help you get started using the WIU libraries.
Library Research Basics
by Mahrya Carncross - Last Updated Jun 27, 2012
This guide will help you understand the basic process of library research for a typical college paper.
Literature Reviews
by Sean Cordes - Last Updated Oct 13, 2010
Literature Reviews
by Sean Cordes, Justin Georges - Last Updated Aug 23, 2012
LLA 313: Children's Literature
by Felix Chu, Eddie Torrez - Last Updated Jan 19, 2012
LLA 513: Advanced Children's Literature
by Eddie Torrez - Last Updated Feb 10, 2009
Locating Book Reviews
by William Thompson - Last Updated Jul 8, 2010
Looking for Lincoln
by Linda Zellmer - Last Updated Aug 16, 2012
This is a guide to finding information on Abraham Lincoln. It includes information on how to find books, journal articles, links to digital collections in Illinois and the U.S., U.S. Government Publications, Educational Resources and a list Lincoln books.
M
Management & Marketing
by Jeanne Stierman - Last Updated Jan 22, 2013
This guide identifies some standard MGT, MKTG, and SCM resources available at the WIU Libraries and beyond. The guide is a work in progress, so I welcome suggestions regarding content, organization, or presentation.
MKTG 317
by Jeanne Stierman - Last Updated Feb 4, 2013
International Business
MKTG 327
by Jeanne Stierman - Last Updated Feb 19, 2013
Marketing Principles
MKTG 329
by Jeanne Stierman - Last Updated Sep 27, 2012
Marketing Research
MKTG 417
by Jeanne Stierman - Last Updated Sep 5, 2012
International Marketing
Monmouth/Roseville High School
by Tammy Sayles - Last Updated Apr 6, 2013
This guide is designed to help you with your research paper.
MUS 441
by Jeanne Stierman - Last Updated Sep 12, 2012
Current Issues in Music Business
Music 190y
by Rod Sharpe - Last Updated Sep 2, 2012
How to navigate the Music Library
Music 390 - Hardeman
by Rod Sharpe - Last Updated Sep 23, 2012
Renaissance & Early Baroque Music
My Account
by Justin Georges - Last Updated Sep 20, 2011
With My Account you can track and store personal information about titles you have checked out from the WIU libraries or requested from I-Share. You can also find item due dates and request renewals.
N
NURS 408
by Daneen Richardson - Last Updated Mar 7, 2013
Nursing
by Daneen Richardson - Last Updated Mar 19, 2013
WIU Library Resource Guide for Nursing
O
Off Campus Access
by Justin Georges - Last Updated Jan 10, 2013
This guide will assist you with accessing library tools and materials from off campus.
Opposing Viewpoints
by Justin Georges - Last Updated Apr 12, 2011
P
Persistent Links to Searches and / or Articles in Lexis Nexis
by William Thompson - Last Updated May 17, 2010
How to create persistent links to searches in Lexis Nexis
Philosophy and Religious Studies
by Mahrya Carncross - Last Updated Aug 10, 2012
Department Guide
Physics
by Kathleen Clauson, Linda Zellmer - Last Updated Aug 7, 2012
Department Research Guides identify and define information resources for a specific department. Each guide was created and is maintained by the library liaison for that department. We encourage you to recommend resources for the guides.
Political Science
by William Thompson - Last Updated May 3, 2010
Department Research Guides identify and define standard information retrieval tools for a specific department. Each guide was created and is maintained by the library liaison for that department. We encourage you to recommend resources for the guides.
POLS 122 (Taylor)
by Krista Bowers-Sharpe - Last Updated Feb 19, 2013
American government and politics
POLS 122Y
by Sean Cordes - Last Updated Mar 25, 2011
PSA Workshop
by Sean Cordes, Justin Georges - Last Updated Nov 28, 2012
PSY 100/Keefe
by Brian Clark - Last Updated Nov 14, 2012
PSY 335 Hammersley
by Daneen Richardson - Last Updated Apr 8, 2013
PSY100Y-Sotozaki
by Sean Cordes - Last Updated Oct 20, 2010
Psyc 323 Lane Spring 2013
by Daneen Richardson - Last Updated Jan 29, 2013
R
Recreation, Park & Tourism Administration
by John Stierman - Last Updated Feb 18, 2013
Department Research Guides identify and define standard information retrieval tools for a specific department. Each guide was created and is maintained by the library liaison for that department. We encourage you to recommend resources for the guides.
Redistricting in Illinois
by Linda Zellmer - Last Updated Jan 22, 2013
This guide provides links to information on 2011 redistricting activities in Illinois.
REL 111 (Carr)
by Jeanne Stierman - Last Updated Jan 30, 2013
Introduction to Western Religions
REL 111 (Perabo)
by Jeanne Stierman - Last Updated Jan 25, 2013
Introduction to Western Religions
Research Strategies Session
by Sean Cordes - Last Updated Sep 10, 2012
S
Scholarly and non-scholarly periodicals
by Sean Cordes - Last Updated Sep 19, 2008
Scholarly and non-scholarly periodicals-How to tell them apart.
Scholarly Publishing and Open Access
by Linda Zellmer - Last Updated Apr 10, 2013
Simple Web Site Navigation
by Justin Georges - Last Updated Jun 22, 2011
This guide will provide helpful information for how to navigate and locate information within a consumer health web site. This guide using the health information site 'Medline Plus' as an example for locating health information.
SOC 100 (Ebert Wallace)
by Krista Bowers-Sharpe - Last Updated Feb 23, 2013
Introduction to Sociology
SOC 100 (Welch)
by Krista Bowers-Sharpe - Last Updated Mar 5, 2013
How to find cost of living and expense information for the Macomb area.
SOC 100 (Wilson)
by Krista Bowers-Sharpe - Last Updated Sep 9, 2012
Introduction to Sociology (FYE) - Spring 2012
SOC 332
by Krista Bowers-Sharpe - Last Updated Feb 19, 2013
Sociological Research Methods II
SOC 365
by Krista Bowers-Sharpe - Last Updated Mar 5, 2013
Sociology of Health & Illness / Ebert Wallace / Spring 2012
SOC 424
by Krista Bowers-Sharpe - Last Updated Mar 5, 2013
Sociology of Mental Health (Ebert Wallace)
Soc100Y-Tollini
by Sean Cordes - Last Updated Nov 22, 2011
SOC332-Mannion
by Sean Cordes - Last Updated Mar 29, 2011
Social Justice and Diversity
by Linda Zellmer - Last Updated Jul 11, 2012
This guide provides links to resources that can be used to find information about social policies and their impacts.
Social Work
by Dean Howd - Last Updated Jul 23, 2010
Department Research Guides identify and define standard information retrieval tools for a specific department. Each guide was created and is maintained by the library liaison for that department. We encourage you to recommend resources for the guides.
Sociological Abstracts
by Sean Cordes - Last Updated Sep 7, 2008
A brief guide for using the Sociological Abstracts database.
Sociology & Anthropology
by Krista Bowers-Sharpe - Last Updated Aug 17, 2012
Department Research Guides identify and define standard information retrieval tools for a specific department. Each guide was created and is maintained by the library liaison for that department. We encourage you to recommend resources for the guides.
SPAN 340 (Obregon)
by Krista Bowers-Sharpe - Last Updated Feb 20, 2013
Spanish for Law Enforcement
Special Education
by John Stierman - Last Updated Jan 31, 2012
Department Research Guides identify and define standard information retrieval tools for a specific department. Each guide was created and is maintained by the library liaison for that department. We encourage you to recommend resources for the guides.
SPED 440 Mummert
by Brian Clark - Last Updated Feb 1, 2013
SPED 440 Mummert
Statistics
by Andrea Francis - Last Updated Oct 9, 2012
A variety of major government statistical sources.
Steal This Box!!!
by Sean Cordes, Justin Georges - Last Updated May 15, 2013
Boxes that can go in any guide.
Style Manual List for WIU Departments
by Krista Bowers-Sharpe - Last Updated Aug 17, 2012
List of preferred style manuals for WIU Departments.
Sustainability Brownbaggers
by Sean Cordes, Justin Georges, Linda Zellmer - Last Updated Jan 30, 2013
The Illinois Institute for Rural Affairs (IIRA), housed at Western Illinois University, will once again sponsor a series of Sustainability Brownbaggers lunch-time conversation events.
T
Teaching in the Cloud (On a shoestring budget)
by Justin Georges - Last Updated Jun 14, 2012
This session will focus on the integration of "Cloud Computing" applications. We will cover tools such as: Dropbox, Typewith.me, Diigo, Zotero, Wordle, Jing and Poll Everywhere.
The Civil War
by Linda Zellmer - Last Updated Oct 15, 2012
This guide contains links to resources related to the U.S. Civil War and Illinois during the Civil War. It contains information on finding books, articles and government publications on the War and information on Civil War related Digital Collections.
THEA 590
by Krista Bowers-Sharpe - Last Updated Aug 22, 2012
Script Analysis
Types of Periodicals
by Krista Bowers-Sharpe - Last Updated Aug 17, 2012
Distinguishing Scholarly from Non-scholarly Periodicals: A Checklist of Criteria
U
UNIV 100 (Trump)
by Krista Bowers-Sharpe - Last Updated Mar 20, 2013
Personal Growth in Higher Education
UrInfo
by Tammy Sayles - Last Updated Apr 29, 2012
This is a collaborative project from ILA's ILEAD U 2011.
Using American Factfinder
by Linda Zellmer - Last Updated Feb 27, 2013
This is a guide to using American FactFinder 2, the Census Bureau's data access system.
Using Databases
by Sean Cordes, Justin Georges - Last Updated Apr 30, 2013
Using Lexis Nexis To Search for Newspaper Articles Part 1
by William Thompson - Last Updated May 12, 2008
Using Lexis Nexis to search for newspaper articles.
V
V.I.T. High School
by Sean Cordes - Last Updated Feb 29, 2012
W
WESL 030-Library Introduction
by Sean Cordes - Last Updated Sep 13, 2012
Research guide for UP Integrated Skills and UP Research Writing.
WESL-Lattan
by Sean Cordes - Last Updated Sep 9, 2012
Women's Studies
by Krista Bowers-Sharpe - Last Updated Aug 17, 2012
Department Research Guides identify and define standard information retrieval tools for a specific department. Each guide was created and is maintained by the library liaison for that department. We encourage you to recommend resources for the guides.
Z
Zotero
by Krista Bowers-Sharpe - Last Updated Feb 1, 2012
How to use the Zotero citation software.
#
2009 - the Year of Science
by Andrea Francis - Last Updated Jan 14, 2011
This site concerning the re-introduction of science into policy-making will evolve throughout the year.
21st Century Literacy
by Sean Cordes - Last Updated Jun 14, 2010
Guide describing the areas, vision, organizations, and resources for developing 21st Century Literacy (21C) programs.

Receive Email Updates

Receive email alerts whenever guides of interest to you are published.

Register for Email Alerts