Library Guides: African American Studies: Newspapers

Black Newspapers

Chicago Defender Online: Review the free online content. WIU does not subscribe. Archival content available for a fee.

Black Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
Black Thought and Culture contains 1,303 sources by over 1200 authors, covering the published non-fiction works of leading African Americans. Many of the items in the collection are primary source documents, such as articles, letters, speeches, and interviews.

Chronicling America: Chronicling America, enhancing access to America's historic newspapers. This site allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1880-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).

New York Times Article Archive: For early issues of the New York Times, you may consult the microfilm set on the Third Floor of the Malpass Library or try your luck with the New York Times Article Archive. According to the Times' website, articles in the public domain are free. Premium articles are for sale. If nothing else you can use this service as a free index. Malpass Library has the paper indexes in the Reference Unit, but I would try the online archive first.

ProQuest Digitized Newspapers (Chicago Tribune, New York Times) This link opens in a new window
An index to articles that appeared in the Chicago Tribune from 1849-1986.

New York Times Article Archive: For early issues of the New York Times, you may consult the microfilm set on the Third Floor of the Malpass Library. Save copied images to the samba server. Or try your luck with the New York Times Article Archive. According to the Times' website, articles in the public domain are free. Premium articles are for sale. Use the Article Archive as a free index, if nothing else.

Access World News This link opens in a new window
Access World News is a comprehensive resource that includes a variety of news publications from nearly 200 countries worldwide. These sources include major national and international newspapers, as well as local and regional titles as well as newswires, blogs, web-only content, videos, journals, magazines, transcripts and more. Access World News is updated daily to keep students informed of current issues and events, and it includes deep archives that provide background information on important topics, enabling students to trace an issue or event over a period of time to help foster critical thinking skills.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Researchers can quickly and easily search full-text documents from over 15,000 credible sources including legal information of information and pinpoint relevant information for a wide range of academic research projects.