Department Research Guides identify and define standard information retrieval tools for a specific department. Each guide was created and is maintained by the library liaison for that department. We encourage you to recommend resources for the guides.
Index and abstracts to international journal articles in biological and medical research. The concept code for nutrition is 132, and the concept code for food technology is 135.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive
nursing & allied health research database, providing full text for
more than 750 journals indexed in CINAHL. Of those, 426 are not
found with full text in any version of Academic Search, Health
Source or Nursing & Allied Health Collection. The database also
provides full text for more than 240 books/monographs. With full text
coverage dating back to 1937, CINAHL Plus with Full Text is the
definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health
literature. CINAHL Plus with Full Text also provides indexing
for over 4,175 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health.
Consumer Health Complete (CHC) is a comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content. It is designed to support patients' information needs and foster an overall understanding of health-related topics. CHC provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. This full text database covers topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, men & women's health, etc. CHC offers a unique search interface designed to call attention to the full text content available from many important source-types, and provide an intuitive means for searching this specific information. Information provided in this database should not be viewed as a means for self-diagnosis or a substitute for professional medical advice, diagnosis or treatment.
Health Source: Consumer Edition is a rich collection of
consumer health information. This resource provides access to nearly 80
full text, consumer health magazines, including American Fitness,
Better Nutrition, Fit Pregnancy, Harvard Health Letter, HealthFacts,
Men's Health, Muscle & Fitness, Prevention, Vegetarian Times,
and many others. This database also includes searchable full text for
more than 1,000 health-related pamphlets and more than 130 health
reference books, including books published by the People's Medical
Society.
Provides nearly 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many
medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for nearly
850 journals.
This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,500
journals, including full text for more than 3,700 peer-reviewed titles.
PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one
hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more
than 1,000 titles.
From arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology, this database meets research needs across all academic disciplines. Access scholarly journals, news magazines, and newspapers - many with full text and images!
The most popular general audience bibliographic index before the digital age. Continues to provide solid indexing of popular magazine articles in Time, Newsweek, Sports Illustrated, for example. Limited full text.
ABI/INFORM Global™ is one of the most comprehensive business databases on the market. It includes in-depth coverage for over 2,890 publications, with more than 1,920 available in full text. ABI/INFORM Global offers the latest business and financial information for researchers at all levels. With ABI/INFORM Global, users can find out about business conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and competitive landscape.
This business database provides full text for nearly 1,100 business publications, including full text for nearly 500 peer-reviewed business publications. The rich collection of titles in Business Source Elite provides information dating back to 1985.
LexisNexis® Academic is an outstanding service for researching news, business, and legal topics. It contains more than 6,000 sources from all over the world, drawn from print, broadcast, and online media. The deep backfile lets you find contemporary accounts of events that took place decades ago.
Leisure,
Recreation & Tourism Abstracts brings together information for
those interested in research and strategic development of leisure,
recreation, sport, tourism and hospitality activities, facilities,
products and services. Includes the following topics: Leisure and
tourism policies; Tourism and leisure industries; Travel and transport;
Facility management and planning; Recreation, cultural, entertainment
and sport activities; Natural resources and environment. Limited to
only a few users at a time.
Includes
all aspects of the hospitality and tourism industry including:
demographics and statistics, hotel management, food service management,
event management, law, market trends and research. Selected full-text.
SPORTDiscus is the most comprehensive, bibliographic database covering sport, physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, physical education, kinesiology, training, disabled persons, drugs, health, health education, biomechanics, movement science, injury prevention rehabilitation, physical therapy, rehabilitation, nutrition, exercise physiology, sport & exercise psychology, occupational health & therapy, public health and more. With full bibliographic coverage, this database includes well over 1,557,000 records with journal and monograph coverage going back to 1800; over 22,000 dissertations and theses and reference to articles in 60 different languages. The content also consists of international references from journal and magazine articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings and more. (from EBSCO help).
