Skip to Main Content

Foreign Languages & Literature: Language & Cultural Studies Research

Department Research Guides identify and define standard information retrieval tools for a specific department. Each guide was created and is maintained by the library liaison for that department. We encourage you to recommend resources for the guides.

Journals

View a journal collection:
   

Or locate a specific journal:

Journal Titles List for WIU

Language/Culture Reference Books

Print reference books located in the Reference Collection, Malpass Library, 2nd Floor:

  • Linguistic Cultures of the World : a Statistical Reference. 1997. P.M. Parker. Westport, CT: Greenwood. REF P35 .P29 1997
  • Language and Communication : a Cross-Cultural Encyclopedia. 1998. M.S. Findlay. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO. REF P29 .F47 1998
  • Changing Values and Beliefs in 85 Countries : Trends from the Values Surveys from 1981 to 2004. 2008. L. Halman, ed. Leiden:  Brill. REF BD435 .C495 2008
  • Encyclopedia of Multiculturalism. 1994. S. Auerbach, ed. New York: Marshall Cavendish. REF E184.A1 E58 1994

Or search for more print and online books using the WestCat library catalog.

Language/Literature Databases

Language Databases:

Clase Periodica
Indexes Latin American journals from the 1970s to present; Clase indexes social sciences and humanities journals; Periodica indexes science and technology journals.

MLA Bibliography
Indexes over 3,700 periodicals, plus monographs and conference proceedings, from 1926 to the present. Covers language and literature, linguistics, folklore, literary criticism, and genres.

Culture Databases:

Handbook of Latin American Studies
A selective annotated bibliography of humanities and social sciences scholarly works (books, articles, chapters and papers) about Latin America, written from 1936 to the present.

Humanities Index International
Indexes over 1,700 journals from 1926 to the present in all areas of the humanities.

International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance
Indexing and some full text for over 100 periodicals and selected books published from 1958 onwards.

MLA Bibliography
Indexes over 3,700 periodicals, plus monographs and conference proceedings, from 1926 to the present. Covers language and literature, linguistics, folklore, literary criticism, and genres.

Or view a list of: All Library Databases