Library Guides: Chemistry: Reference Resources

Reference Resources in Chemistry

This page contains citations and links to books and other reference resources related to Chemistry. The page is divided into separate sections on General Chemistry, Analytical Chemistry, Applied Chemistry, Biochemistry, Electrochemistry, Forensic Chemistry, Green & Environmental Chemistry, Inorganic Chemistry, Nuclear Chemistry, Organic Chemistry, Physical Chemistry and Polymer Chemistry. The print titles appear first in each box and are followed by online resources. If you would like to suggest titles to be added to the list, please contact Linda Zellmer.

General Chemistry

Print Resources

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics, 89th ed.: CRC Press: Cleveland, OH, Annual. Malpass Library Reference QD65 .H3

Considine, Glenn D., ed. Van Nostrand’s Encyclopedia of Chemistry, 5th ed.: Wiley-Interscience: Hoboken, NJ, 2005. Malpass Library Reference QD4 .V36 2005

Enghag, Per. Encyclopedia of the Elements: Technical Data, History, processing, applications; Wiley-VCH: Weinheim, 2004. Malpass Library Reference QD466 .E56 2004

Krebs, Robert E. The history and use of our earth’s chemical elements: a reference guide; Greenwood Press: Westport, CT, 1998. Malpass Library Reference QD466 .K69 1998

Lagowski, Joseph J., ed. Chemistry: foundations and applications; Macmillan Reference USA: New York, 2004. Malpass Library Reference QD4 .C48 2004

Lagowski, Joseph J., ed. Macmillan encyclopedia of chemistry; Macmillan Reference USA: New York, 1997. 4 vol., Malpass Library Reference QD 4 .M33 1997

Lewis, Richard J., Sr., ed. Hawley’s condensed chemical dictionary, 14th ed.; Hoboken, NJ: Wiley, 2001. Malpass Library Reference QD5 .C5 2002

O’Neil, Maryadele J. and others, eds. The Merck index: an encyclopedia of chemicals, drugs, and biologicals, 14th ed.; Merck: Whitehouse Station, NJ, 2006; Malpass Library Reference RS356 .M524 2006

Speight, James G. and Lange, Norbert. Lange’s handbook of chemistry, 16th ed.; McGraw-Hill: New York, 2005. Malpass Library Reference QD65 .L36 2005

Online Resources

IUPAC Compendium of Chemical Terminology (the Gold Book)
An online dictionary of chemical nomenclature, terminology, symbols and units developed b the International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry, which includes definitions published in Pure and Applied Chemistry, other IUPAC references and other sources. It can be searched or browsed using alphabetical or topical indexes.
IUPAC Nomenclature Home Page
A central collection of links to all of the IUPAC nomenclature resources available on the Web.
ChemIDplus®
A free, web-based search system that can be used to find structure and nomenclature for chemical substances cited in National Library of Medicine (NLM) databases, including TOXNET. It can also be used to search for chemical structures and and links to biomedical resources at the National Library of Medicine and find Internet information on chemicals. The database contains records for over 388,000 chemicals; over 295,000 of the records include chemical structures. It can be searched by Name, Synonym, CAS Registry Number, Molecular Formula, Classification Code, Locator Code, Structure, Toxicity, and/or Physical properties. The database has two versions: Lite and Advanced.
Gaither’s Dictionary of Scientific Quotations
Gaither, Carl C. and Cavazos-Gaither, Alma E. Gaither’s Dictionary of Scientific Quotations: A Collection of Approximately 27,000 Quotations Pertaining to Archaeology, Architecture, Astronomy, Biology, Botany, Chemistry, Cosmology, Darwinism, Death, Engineering, Geology, Life, Mathematics, Medicine, Nature, Nursing, Paleontology, Philosophy, Physics, Probability, Science, Statistics, Technology, Theory, Universe, and Zoology. 2nd ed. New York: Springer. 2012.

Analytical Chemistry

American Chemical Society. Reagent chemicals: specifications and procedures, 10th ed.; American Chemical Society: Washington, 2006. Malpass Library Reference QD77 .A54 2006

American Public Health Association and others. Standard methods for the examination of water and wastewater: including bottom sediments and sludges, 11th ed., Prepared and published jointly by American Public Health Association, American Water Works Association; Water Pollution Control Federation; American Public Health Association: New York, Malpass Library Stacks QD142 .A5

Bruno, Thomas J., and Svoronos, Paris D. N. Handbook of basic tables for chemical analysis, 2nd ed.; Taylor & Francis: Boca Raton, FL, 2003. Malpass Library Reference QD78 .B78 2003

Patnaik, Pradyot. Dean’s analytical chemistry handbook, 2nd ed.; McGraw-Hill: New York, 2004. Malpass Library Stacks QD78 .P37 2004

Applied Chemistry

Handbook of Industrial Chemistry and Biotechnology
Kent, James A., ed. Handbook of Industrial Chemistry and Biotechnology. Volume 1 and 2, 12th ed.; Springer: New York, 2012.
Handbook of industrial catalysts
Lloyd, Lawrie. Handbook of industrial catalysts; Springer Science: New York, 2006.

Biochemistry

Print Resources

R. Cammack and others, eds. Oxford dictionary of biochemistry and molecular biology, 2nd ed.; Oxford University Press: Oxford; New York, 2006. Malpass Library Reference QP512 .O94 2006

Leung, Albert Y. and Foster, Steven. Leung’s encyclopedia of common natural ingredients: used in food, drugs, and cosmetics, 2nd ed.; John Wiley & Sons, Inc.: Hoboken, NJ, 2010. Malpass Library Reference QD415.A25 L48 2003

Online Resources

UCMP Biochemistry Glossary
An online glossary of biochemistry terms from the University of California Museum of Paleontology.

Electrochemistry

Electrochemical Dictionary
Bard, Allen J., Inzelt, György and Scholz, F., Eds. Electrochemical dictionary; Springer: Berlin, 2012.
Electrochemistry: The Basics
Lefrou, Christine., Fabry, Pierre.Poignet, Jean-Claude. Electrochemistry: the basics, with examples; Springer: Berlin, 2012.

Forensic Chemistry

Print Books

Bell, Suzanne. Forensic Chemistry; Pearson Prentice Hall: Upper Saddle River, N.J., 2006. Malpass Library Stacks RA1057 .B45 2006

Dressler, Joshua ed. Encyclopedia of Crime & Justice, 2nd ed.; Macmillan Reference: New York, 2002. Malpass Reference HV6017.E52 2002

Kobilinsky, Lawrence F., eds. Forensic Chemistry Handbook; John Wiley & Sons: Hoboken, N.J., 2012. Malpass Library Stacks HV8073 .F5595 2012

Newton, Michael. The Encyclopedia of Crime Scene Investigation. Facts on File: New York, 2008. Malpass Library Stacks HV8073 .N49 2008

Payne-James, Jason and others. Encyclopedia of Forensic and Legal Medicine, 1st ed.; Elsevier Academic Press: Amsterdam; Boston, 2005. Malpass Library Stacks RA1017.E53 2005

Electronic Books

Basic Principles of Forensic Chemistry
Khan, Javed, Kennedy, Thomas J. and Christian, Donnell R., Jr. Basic Principles of Forensic Chemistry; Humana Press: New York, 2012.

Green & Environmental Chemistry

Print Books

Guardia, Miguel de la and Garrigues, Salvador, eds. Challenges in Green Analytical Chemistry; Royal Society of Chemistry Publishing: Cambridge, 2011. Malpass Library Stacks TP155.2.E58 C45 2011

Electronic Resources

Innovations in Green Chemistry and Green Engineering: Selected Entries from the Encyclopedia of Sustainability Science and Technology
Anastas, Paul T. and Zimmerman, Julie B., eds. Innovations in Green Chemistry and Green Engineering: Selected Entries from the Encyclopedia of Sustainability Science and Technology; Springer: New York, 2013.
The Handbook of Environmental Chemistry: Part M, Reactions and processes
Hutzinger, O., ed. The Handbook of Environmental Chemistry: Part M, Reactions and processes; Springer: Berlin; London, 2005.
Green solvents: I, Properties and Application in Chemistry
Mohammad, Ali and Inamuddin, eds. Green solvents: I, Properties and Application in Chemistry; Springer: Dordrecht; New York, 2012.
Green solvents. II, Properties and Applications of Ionic Liquids
Mohammad, Ali and Inamuddin, eds. Green solvents. II, Properties and Applications of Ionic Liquids; Springer: Dordrecht; New York, 2012.
Green Chemical Reactions
Tundo, Pietro and Esposito, Vittorio, eds. Green Chemical Reactions; Springer: Dordrecht; London, 2008.
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency. Green Chemistry
Information from the US Environmental Protection Agency about Green Chemistry, including the basics, funding and other resources.

Inorganic Chemistry

Print Books

Li, Wai-Kee, Zhou, Gong-Du, Mak, Thomas Chung Wai. Advanced Structural Inorganic Chemistry. International Union of Crystallography texts on crystallography 10; Oxford University Press: Oxford; New York, 2008. Malpass Library Stacks QD475 .L5 2008

Lawrance, Geoffrey A. Introduction to Coordination Chemistry; Wiley: Chichester, U.K., 2010. Malpass Library Stacks QD474 .L387 2010

Electronic Books & Resources

Inorganic Chemistry in Tables
Turova, Nataliya. Inorganic Chemistry in Tables; Springer: New York, 2011.

Nuclear Chemistry

Handbook of Nuclear Chemistry
Vertes, Attila and others, eds. Handbook of Nuclear Chemistry. 2nd ed.; Springer: [Dordrecht], 2011.

Organic Chemistry

Print Resources

Alonso-Amelot, Miguel E.. The Art Of Problem Solving In Organic Chemistry; Wiley: Hoboken, New Jersey, 2014. Malpass Library Stacks QD251.3 .A46 2014

Bachrach, Steven M. Computational Organic Chemistry; Wiley-Interscience: Hoboken, N.J., 2007. Malpass Library Stacks QD255.5.M35 B33 2007

Yoder, Claude H., Leber, Phyllis A.,Thomsen, Marcus W. The Bridge To Organic Chemistry: Concepts And Nomenclature; John Wiley: Hoboken, N.J., 2010. Malpass Library Stacks QD251.3 .Y63 2010

Electronic Resources

Advanced Organic Chemistry Part A: Structure and Mechanisms
Carey, Francis A.,Sundberg, Richard J. Advanced organic chemistry Part A: Structure and Mechanisms; Springer: New York, 2007.
Advanced Organic Chemistry Part B: Reactions and Synthesis
Carey, Francis A. and Sundberg, Richard J. (2007) Advanced Organic Chemistry Part B: Reactions and Synthesis; Springer: New York, 2007.
Name Reactions: A Collection of Detailed Reaction Mechanisms
Li, Jie Jack. Name Reactions: A Collection of Detailed Reaction Mechanisms, 4th ed.; Springer: Berlin; London, 2009.

Physical Chemistry

Print Resources

Moore, John H. and Spencer, Nicholas D., eds. Encyclopedia of Chemical Physics and Physical Chemistry; Institute of Physics: Bristol, 2001. Malpass Library Reference QD451 .E529 2001

Electronic Resources

Physical Chemistry in Depth
Fink, Johannes K. Physical chemistry in depth; Springer-Verlag: Berlin; Heidelberg, 2009.

Polymer Chemistry

Print Resources

Allcock, H. R., Lampe, Frederick W. and Mark, James E. Contemporary Polymer Chemistry, 3rd ed.; Pearson/Prentice Hall: Upper Saddle River, N.J., 2003. Malpass Library Stacks QD381 .A44 2003

Electronic Resources

Encyclopedic Dictionary of Polymers
Gooch, Jan W., Ed. Encyclopedic Dictionary of Polymers; Springer: New York, 2010.

Theoretical & Computational Chemistry

Print Resources

von Rague´ Schleyer, Paul, Ed. Encyclopedia of Computational Chemistry; J. Wiley: Chichester, U.K.; New York, 1998. Malpass Library Reference QD39.3.E46 E53 1998

Electronic Resources

Handbook of Computational Chemistry
Leszczynski, Jerzy, ed. Handbook of Computational Chemistry; Springer Science: Dordrecht; New York, 2012.
Practical Aspects of Computational Chemistry I: An Overview of the last Two Decades and Current Trends
Leszczynski, Jerzy and Shukla, Manoj K., eds. Practical aspects of computational chemistry I: an overview of the last two decades and current trends; Springer: Dordrecht; New York, 2012.
Practical aspects of Computational Chemistry II: An Overview of the last Two Decades and Current Trends
Leszczynski, Jerzy and Shukla, Manoj K., eds. Practical aspects of computational chemistry II: an overview of the last two decades and current trends; Springer: Dordrecht; London, 2012.
Computational Chemistry: Introduction to the Theory and Applications of Molecular and Quantum Mechanics
Lewars, Errol. Computational chemistry: introduction to the theory and applications of molecular and quantum mechanics, 2nd ed.; Springer: Dordrecht; London, 2010.