Library Guides: Chemistry: Finding Articles

Indexes to Chemistry Publications

SciFinder (Chemical Abstracts) This link opens in a new window
SciFinder is an index to publications in all areas of chemistry, including inorganic and analytical chemistry, organic chemistry, biochemistry, macromolecular chemistry, applied chemistry, physical chemistry and related areas. Information on searching SciFinder is available on the SciFinder Training Web Site.

SciFinder Training Site
A website that provides information on searching SciFinder, including a series of short videos that demonstrate a variety of techniques for using SciFinder.

Science Citation Index (via Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
An interdisciplinary index to journal articles in the sciences including over 500 journals in Chemistry and related disciplines. The database provides access to articles in over 3,500 journals from 2004 to the present. It can be used to search for information on who has cited an article.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed contains more than 24 million citations to biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books, including some links to full-text articles.

Science & Engineering Journal Abbreviations Search System
This site from the University of British Columbia can be used to find the title of a journal by searching its abbreviation.

When you are off campus you will need to show you have permission to use the databases and journals by loggin in to the "Proxy" form.