Browse By Subject
- Accountancy & Finance
- African American Studies
- Agriculture
- Art
- Biological Sciences
- Broadcasting
- Citing Sources
- Class Guides
- Communication
- Communication Sciences & Disorders
- Computer Science & Information Systems
- Curriculum & Instruction
- Databases
- Department Research Guides
- Dietetics, Fashion Merchandising & Hospitality
- Digital Skills
- Distance Learning, International Studies and Outreach
- Economics & Decision Sciences
- Educational & Interdisciplinary Studies
- Educational Leadership
- Engineering Technology
- English & Journalism
- Foreign Languages & Literature
- Geography
- Geology
- Government and Legal Resources
- Health Sciences
- History
- Instructional Design & Technology
- Kinesiology
- Law Enforcement & Justice Administration
- Management & Marketing
- Music
- Nursing
- Philosophy & Religious Studies
- Physics
- Political Science
- Psychology
- Recreation, Park & Tourism Administration
- Research
- Research and Writing
- Social Work
- Sociology & Anthropology
- Special Education
- Subject Guides
- Technology Tools
- Theatre & Dance
- Using the Library
- WESL
- Women's Studies
- Writing
Research
21st Century Literacy
- Last Updated Jun 14, 2010
Guide describing the areas, vision, organizations, and resources for developing 21st Century Literacy (21C) programs.
- Last Updated Jun 14, 2010
Guide describing the areas, vision, organizations, and resources for developing 21st Century Literacy (21C) programs.
AAS 281-Literature of the Black World (Boukari)
- Last Updated Mar 28, 2013
Session on how to located movie reviews.
- Last Updated Mar 28, 2013
Session on how to located movie reviews.
Academic Search Premier
- Last Updated Jun 22, 2011
Academic Search Premier is an excellent source of scholarly journals in all academic disciplines. More than 8,000 journals are indexed and full text is provided for more than 4500.
- Last Updated Jun 22, 2011
Academic Search Premier is an excellent source of scholarly journals in all academic disciplines. More than 8,000 journals are indexed and full text is provided for more than 4500.
Aging Resources
- Last Updated Nov 5, 2008
A Guide to Government and Legal Resources on Aging and the Elderly.
- Last Updated Nov 5, 2008
A Guide to Government and Legal Resources on Aging and the Elderly.
AGRN 374 - Plant Disease Information Guide
- Last Updated Jan 23, 2013
This guide provides links to resources that can be used to research information about crop diseases. It includes indexes and databases, reference sources and links to government information on plant diseases.
- Last Updated Jan 23, 2013
This guide provides links to resources that can be used to research information about crop diseases. It includes indexes and databases, reference sources and links to government information on plant diseases.
ANSC415 - Beef Production
- Last Updated Jan 28, 2013
This guide contains links to information sources that can be used for research on beef production
- Last Updated Jan 28, 2013
This guide contains links to information sources that can be used for research on beef production
Choosing your sources
- Last Updated Aug 22, 2012
With so much information available, it's hard to decide which sources to use. This guide will introduce you to the basics of evaluating your information sources.
- Last Updated Aug 22, 2012
With so much information available, it's hard to decide which sources to use. This guide will introduce you to the basics of evaluating your information sources.
Citation Builders
- Last Updated May 2, 2012
You don't need to create your citations from scratch! Use this guide to find out more.
- Last Updated May 2, 2012
You don't need to create your citations from scratch! Use this guide to find out more.
Citing your Sources
- Last Updated Jun 27, 2012
This guide covers the basics of citing sources. Why do we cite? When should you cite? How should you do it? Find answers to these questions here.
- Last Updated Jun 27, 2012
This guide covers the basics of citing sources. Why do we cite? When should you cite? How should you do it? Find answers to these questions here.
Complex Pagination in Word 2010
- Last Updated Sep 7, 2012
How to do complex pagination using section breaks and delinking in Word 2010
- Last Updated Sep 7, 2012
How to do complex pagination using section breaks and delinking in Word 2010
Copyright Resources at WIU
- Last Updated Aug 16, 2012
This guide focuses on resources regarding copyright, fair use, and the TEACH Act. Also included are case scenarios. This guide was created by Peggy West (Center for Innovation in Teaching and Research) and Andrea Falcone (University Libraries).
- Last Updated Aug 16, 2012
This guide focuses on resources regarding copyright, fair use, and the TEACH Act. Also included are case scenarios. This guide was created by Peggy West (Center for Innovation in Teaching and Research) and Andrea Falcone (University Libraries).
Doing Literature Reviews
- Last Updated Jun 4, 2012
A guide for doing literature reviews using the example of Recreation, Parks, and Tourism Administration
- Last Updated Jun 4, 2012
A guide for doing literature reviews using the example of Recreation, Parks, and Tourism Administration
Drug Legalization Debate
- Last Updated Feb 4, 2011
A Guide to Selected Government and Legal Information Available at WIU's Government, Legal, Spatial and Data Services Library.
- Last Updated Feb 4, 2011
A Guide to Selected Government and Legal Information Available at WIU's Government, Legal, Spatial and Data Services Library.
Find a Journal
- Last Updated Apr 9, 2013
This guide will help you find full-text articles from a particular publication.
- Last Updated Apr 9, 2013
This guide will help you find full-text articles from a particular publication.
Finding International Information
- Last Updated Apr 10, 2013
This research guide includes major web and print resources.
- Last Updated Apr 10, 2013
This research guide includes major web and print resources.
Finding Media On the Web
- Last Updated Jan 4, 2013
This guide will assist you when finding royalty free and other media resources on the web.
- Last Updated Jan 4, 2013
This guide will assist you when finding royalty free and other media resources on the web.
Finding Place Name Information
- Last Updated Aug 7, 2012
This guide contains links to online gazetteers and atlases that can be used to find information on the places and their location. It contains links to resources on the United States, individual states, countries and the World.
- Last Updated Aug 7, 2012
This guide contains links to online gazetteers and atlases that can be used to find information on the places and their location. It contains links to resources on the United States, individual states, countries and the World.
Finding Test and Survey Instruments @ WIU
- Last Updated Feb 3, 2011
How to locate educational and psychological tests and surveys to use for your research project.
- Last Updated Feb 3, 2011
How to locate educational and psychological tests and surveys to use for your research project.
Library Research Basics
- Last Updated Jun 27, 2012
This guide will help you understand the basic process of library research for a typical college paper.
- Last Updated Jun 27, 2012
This guide will help you understand the basic process of library research for a typical college paper.
Persistent Links to Searches and / or Articles in Lexis Nexis
- Last Updated May 17, 2010
How to create persistent links to searches in Lexis Nexis
- Last Updated May 17, 2010
How to create persistent links to searches in Lexis Nexis
Redistricting in Illinois
- Last Updated Jan 22, 2013
This guide provides links to information on 2011 redistricting activities in Illinois.
- Last Updated Jan 22, 2013
This guide provides links to information on 2011 redistricting activities in Illinois.
Scholarly and non-scholarly periodicals
- Last Updated Sep 19, 2008
Scholarly and non-scholarly periodicals-How to tell them apart.
- Last Updated Sep 19, 2008
Scholarly and non-scholarly periodicals-How to tell them apart.
Simple Web Site Navigation
- Last Updated Jun 22, 2011
This guide will provide helpful information for how to navigate and locate information within a consumer health web site. This guide using the health information site 'Medline Plus' as an example for locating health information.
- Last Updated Jun 22, 2011
This guide will provide helpful information for how to navigate and locate information within a consumer health web site. This guide using the health information site 'Medline Plus' as an example for locating health information.
The Civil War
- Last Updated Oct 15, 2012
This guide contains links to resources related to the U.S. Civil War and Illinois during the Civil War. It contains information on finding books, articles and government publications on the War and information on Civil War related Digital Collections.
- Last Updated Oct 15, 2012
This guide contains links to resources related to the U.S. Civil War and Illinois during the Civil War. It contains information on finding books, articles and government publications on the War and information on Civil War related Digital Collections.
Types of Periodicals
- Last Updated Aug 17, 2012
Distinguishing Scholarly from Non-scholarly Periodicals: A Checklist of Criteria
- Last Updated Aug 17, 2012
Distinguishing Scholarly from Non-scholarly Periodicals: A Checklist of Criteria
Using American Factfinder
- Last Updated Feb 27, 2013
This is a guide to using American FactFinder 2, the Census Bureau's data access system.
- Last Updated Feb 27, 2013
This is a guide to using American FactFinder 2, the Census Bureau's data access system.
Using Lexis Nexis To Search for Newspaper Articles Part 1
- Last Updated May 12, 2008
Using Lexis Nexis to search for newspaper articles.
- Last Updated May 12, 2008
Using Lexis Nexis to search for newspaper articles.