Skip to Main Content

Broadcasting: Database Resources

Department Research Guides identify and define standard information retrieval tools for a specific department. Each guide was created and is maintained by the library liaison for that department. We encourage you to recommend resources for the guides.

Search Tips

Search Tips

-Try using both subject and keyword searches

-Use the subject terms generated by your search

-Try limiting the search by date

-Try limiting by Scholarly or Peer reviewed publications

-Use the "Find It" button to double check for full text

General Databases

Academic Search  Premier-provides full text for more than 2,050 publications, including more than 1,500 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to the full text, indexing and abstracts are provided for all 3,476 journals in the collection. This database offers information in nearly every area of academic study.

America's Newspapers-America'a Newspapers is the Libraries best single source for full-text newspapers articles. Simple to search. Includes access to the Chicago Tribune and the Peoria Journal Star, the two most popular newspapers in our area. Limit your search by newspaper, state, region, and more.

LexisNexis Academic - full-text access to major domestic and foreign newpapers, news transcripts, legal periodicals, and other sources
Opposing ViewPoints-Find arguments for and against numerous topics. Arranged by subject. Keyword search available.

Want more choices? Here's a Link to all the Library Databases

Instructional Librarian