This is the "Historic Maps" page of the "Guide to Resources on Urban History and Environment (History 300)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
WIU Library Links WIU Library Home Comments Site Map Library Hours My Account Comments
Admin Sign In 

Guide to Resources on Urban History and Environment (History 300) 

This guide was developed to help users locate information on urban history. It includes information on historical maps, photographs, newspapers, GIS and statistical data, and environmental information.
Last update: Dec 04th, 2008 URL: http://wiu.libguides.com/urbanhistory  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Historic Maps             Print Page
  
 

Class Presentation

Information Sources for Urban History - PowerPoint presentation given by Linda Zellmer during class.

 

About Historic Maps

Historic maps can be used to show the changes that have occurred in an area over time.

 
 

Historic Maps

Digital Map Collections - Illinois

Illinois Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps – Fire insurance maps were developed to help insurance companies set insurance rates, based on the types of structures and types of businesses in an area. They contain information on the outline of each building, property boundaries and street names. The Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps for Illinois are available in black & white through ProQuest.

Historic Illinois Maps Online – a collection of digital maps showing the history of Illinois and the Midwest.

Illinois County Plat Books and Atlases - a site with information on the plat books and county atlases available at the Illinois State Library. Plat books show land ownership; early atlases may include early maps of Illinois cities.

Federal Township Plats of Illinois - the plats show Illinois townships before settlement.

Illinois Land Cover in the Early 1800s - provide a record of the Illinois landscape before settlement.

Digital Map Collections - All Areas

David Rumsey CollectionIncludes maps of many places, including a historical atlas of Illinois by Warner and Beers. Maps can be downloaded as JPEG images.

Maps in American Memory (Library of Congress) – American Memory is is a digital record of American history. It includes maps of many cities (primarily birds-eye views), sometimes with multiple dates.

Readex U.S. Congressional Serial Set – The Serial Set is a collection of primary source material detailing with all aspects of American history. It includes Reports and Documents from the U.S. House of Representatives and Senate, including many early annual reports of Executive Agencies. These early reports include maps, illustrations and statistics. This index is available on a trial basis only.

U.S. Census Atlases, 1790-1920 - The Library of Congress has scanned the historical U.S. Census atlases. They are part of American Memory.

Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps for U.S. States and Canadian Provinces – the Union List of Sanborn and Other Fire Insurance Maps is available from the University of California - Berkeley. Click on the state name to determine whether digital maps are available for a particular state.

 

Historic Maps

Linda Zellmer
Contact Info:
Government Information & Data Services Librarian
Malpass Library 415
309-298-2723
Send Email

Subjects:
Maps, Geographic Information Systems (GIS), GIS Data, Geology, Geography, Agriculture, Statistical Data

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait