This is the "Article Sources" page of the "ENG/COM (Norton)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
WIU Library Links Western Illinois University Libraries Western Illinois University WIU Knowledge Base

ENG/COM (Norton)  

Last Updated: Oct 3, 2012 URL: http://wiu.libguides.com/ENGCOM Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Article Sources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Where to Start?

car

There are many potential starting lines when you are looking for articles on a topic. Each database has some unique info, because each is an index to a different group of resources. If you don't see the "right stuff" in one, try another one.

 

Sources of Articles

 

CQ Researcher

  • Composed of single-themed, 12,000-word reports which offer in-depth, unbiased analysis
  • topics relate to health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy
Opposing Viewpoints in Context

  • viewpoint essays
  • full-text magazine, academic journal, and newspaper articles
  • primary source documents and statistics
  • images, podcasts, and links to websites

Academic Search Premier [also via SRC]

  • wide coverage, with at least a little on many topics
  • magazine & journal articles, many full text
  • both popular and scholarly
InfoTrac (Expanded Academic Index)
  • another general database with broad coverage
  • magazine & journal articles, many full text
Access World News [also via SRC]
  • full text from more than 4000 U.S. newspapers, with another 2000+ from other countries
  • great source for topics that may be regional rather than national in scope
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip