Skip to Main Content

School of Education: Locating Articles

The School of Education specializes in preparing professional educators, educational leadership, and college student personnel to address real world needs of educators in a variety of educational settings.

Can't Find It?

Determining whether or not we have the articles in a database or in the library can be confusing.
We have a tool that can help you by using the FIND IT button or link in the database.

This will tell you 3 things.

  1. We have the full text in another database.
  2. We have a print copy in the library.
  3. You can order the item from another library.

If you get frustrated, contact me or the Reference Desk for help.

Search Techniques

The library catalog (WestCat): Use advanced search. Put literature review in the blank and select "as a phrase." Try this as a Keyword Anywhere and as Title Search.

Search I-Share: Use advanced search. Put your topic words first then put  Literature Review in the second blank. Try this as a Title Search, Subject Search, and Keyword search Example: health and literture review. Use the list heading on the right side to narrow your search.

Databases: Use basically the same process with the advanced search, look to see if the databases has subject term in the pulldown, or on the side of your results to help you filter and focus results.

Find It @ WIU

When you are looking at search results in Soc Abs, notice the Find it! button. You must click on it to see whether or not we have an article.

 

Example of an article that is available at WIU:

  • Full Text:  An online version that you can print off; just click on the Go button.

  • Holdings:  A print version.  It says we own 1986-2003, which includes the year you need.  The citation in Soc Abs is all you need to find the article on the 3rd floor shelves.  Journals are shelved by title, in this case Journal of Cross-Cultural Gerontology. Then use the date and page numbers listed in the Soc Abs citation.



Example of an article that we do not have immediate access to here at WIU.  You would need to request a copy through Interlibrary Loan: