Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
WIU Library Links WIU Library Home Comments Site Map Library Hours My Account Comments
Admin Sign In 

International Information  Tags: international globalization foreign government trade  

This research guide includes major web and print resources.
Last update: Dec 11th, 2008 URL: http://wiu.libguides.com/international  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Trade             Print Page
  
 

International Trade Statistics & Info

World Trade Organization
Find news, statistics, trade profiles, speeches, legal texts and much more.

Understanding the WTO: the Uruguay Round (WTO)
Explore the history and documents behind the creation of the World Trade Organization.

TradeAgreements.gov
This is an interagency effort to support free trade agreements. Text of existing FTAs is included.

International Trade Statistics 2007 (WTO)
This annual publication details trade in merchandise and commercial services.

Foreign Trade Statistics (Census Bureau)
This website has trade highlights, statistics, regulations, codes and forms for exporters.

Industry Trade Data and Analysis (ITA)
This website from the Office of Trade and Industry Information, a division of the International Trade Administration, has data on exports to foreign countries from states and metro areas, industry-specific trade data, and statistics on exporters.

TradeStats Express (OTII)
This nifty tool allows you to pick the data you want (import, export or trade balance - state or national) and the item, then it maps the current year data and provides the report for the years selected. Some data coverage starts in 1989.

Data Analysis Supporting U.S. Trade Agreements (ITA)
These reports contain mostly state export data.

NAFTA Ten Years Later (Export.gov)
This report covers statistics on trade under the North American Free Trade Agreement from 1993-2003.

The Virtual World Trade Reference Room (Dept. of Commerce)
This is a good list of available online data sources.

International Trade and Tariff Data (WTO)
View the WTO's annual statistical publications on trade or tariff data, or use the interactive statistical database.

Concordances for Trade and Tariff Data
Here you can find a list of sites to convert from one classification code to another.

Foreign Trade Codes (Census Bureau)
Here you can find country codes, export codes, district codes and product codes.

Harmonized Tariff Schedule (ITC)
Tariffs on imported goods classified using the international nomenclature structure of the Harmonized Commodity Description and Coding System.

RAMON - Eurostat's Classification Codes
Classifications and nomenclatures used in European statistics.

National Trade Performances (WTO)
Trade performance analysis by country from the International Trade Centre.

Market Research Library (ITA)
through this site you can access reports by country, such as the Country Commercial guides, Best Market Reports and Market Research Reports.

USA Trade Online (password protected - come see us)
This database from the Census Bureau provides import and export data in the Harmonized System of NAICS on thousands of commodities.

SICE: Foreign Trade Information System (OAS)
Find information on trade agreements concerning the countries of the Organization of American States.

UNCTAD GlobStat (UN)
Development and Globalization: Facts and Figures.

2008 National Trade Estimate Report on Foreign Trade Barriers (USTR)
This annual report provides detailed reports on individual countries regarding U.S. companies' access to their markets.

Foreign Trade and Global Economic Policies (State Dept.)
This is chapter 10 of a volume prepared for the U.S. Department of State by former Wall Street Journal reporters on the history of the U.S. economy.

U.S. International Trade Statistics (Census Bureau)
Here you can look up U.S. imports or exports to or from other countries either by country or SITC code.

Guide to Foreign Trade Statistics: Description of the Foreign Trade Statistical Program
This guide describes and defines concepts and terminology used in trade statistics.

International Programs and Publications (Bureau of Transportation Statistics)
This agency reports on transborder freight statistics and border crossings for the United States and its contiguous neighbors.

 

U.S. Trade Agencies

Office of the United States Trade Representative (WTO)
Information on trade agreements and U.S. trade policy by the office that represent the U.S. in international trade disputes and negotiations.

Business.Gov: Import/Export
Guides to getting started in importing or exporting products.

U.S. Commercial Service (ITA)
This trade promotion unit of the International Trade Administration helps U.S. companies get started in exporting by providing market research and business counseling.

Import Administration (ITA)
This agency is the watchdog for unfairly traded imports and takes action when it finds trade practices that adversely impact American companies.

Foreign Agricultural Service Marketing Events Calendar (USDA)
This database is designed to help suppliers of U.S. agriculture, fishery and forestry products penetrate foreign markets by listing promotional activities that provide new business opportunities.

BuyUSA.Gov (U.S. Commercial Service)
This is a listing of international offices by country for businesses to contact when trying to engage in business in that country.

Overseas Private Investment Corporation
U.S. companies can utilize OPIC's services to expand into emerging markets world-wide.

 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageGovernment, Legal, Spatial and Data Services
Contact Info:
Government, Legal, Spatial and Data Services
Malpass Library, 4th Floor
Western Illinois University
1 University Circle
Macomb, IL
61455
Send Email

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait