Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
WIU Library Links WIU Library Home Comments Site Map Library Hours My Account Comments
Admin Sign In 

International Information  Tags: international globalization foreign government trade  

This research guide includes major web and print resources.
Last update: Dec 11th, 2008 URL: http://wiu.libguides.com/international  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Statistics             Print Page
  
 

Statistics and Information on Countries of the World - Detailed

U.S. Census Bureau International Database
Demographic and socio-economic statistics from all countries--some data back to 1950. There is summary data for each country or choose from a list of tables that include population breakdowns, vital rates, lifetables, migration rate, marital status, contraceptive use, religious affiliation, language, and literacy. Includes options for browser display and downloading into spreadsheets, and also a user-configurable option.

Area Handbooks Series: Country Studies
Detailed demographic, geographic, historical, political, industrial, and economic information from the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress. The library has many of these in hardcopy; search WestCat for call numbers.

Eurostat (EU)
The premier statistical site for the European Union. Topics include population, economy, energy, and government finance; more.

Eurobarometer (EU)
30 Years of public opinion analysis.

 

Cursory Statistics and Information on Countries

Background Notes of countries
Cursory economic, demographic, political, and foreign relations data along with some history and U.S. policy towards each country. These are written by the State Department's regional bureaus.

CIA World Fact Book
Cursory economic data for foreign countries including population, GDP, unemployment, imports/exports, budget, type of government, etc. Annual. Most recent edition kept at 4th floor public service desk.
GOVPUBS. PREX 3.10:N 21/

Atlapedia
This website has brief histories of countries, maps and cursory statistics on population and trade.

World Atlas & Map Library (Infoplease)
You can view maps of regions and countries, read country profiles or find world statistics and rankings.

NationMaster.com
This fun tool culls data from official sources and surveys and allows country comparisons on all sorts of topics.

 

Topical Statistics on Countries

World Factbook of Criminal Justice Systems (BJS)
These country reports describe the history of legal systems and penal systems, as well as give crime data for their respective countries.

Foreign Trade Statistics (Census)
Import/export statistics - not country specific.

Foreign Labor Statistics (Bureau of Labor Statistics)
Hourly pay by sector and workforce characteristics of various countries.

International Financial Statistics (IMF) - WIU only
This database contains time series data for more than 200 countries and areas back to 1948. The different options include browse, search or you can build your own tables and select display variables from 32,000 time series.

The World Bank
This website includes data, research, projects and publications.

 

Trade Statistics

International Trade Statistics 2007 (WTO)
This annual publication details trade in merchandise and commercial services.

Foreign Trade Statistics (Census Bureau)
This website has trade highlights, statistics, regulations, codes and forms for exporters.

The Virtual World Trade Reference Room (Dept. of Commerce)
This is a good list of available online data sources.

Industry Trade Data and Analysis (ITA)
This website from the Office of Trade and Industry Information, a division of the International Trade Administration, has data on exports to foreign countries from states and metro areas, industry-specific trade data, and statistics on exporters.

TradeStats Express (OTII)
This nifty tool allows you to pick the data you want (import, export or trade balance - state or national) and the item, then it maps the current year data and provides the report for the years selected. Some data coverage starts in 1989.

Data Analysis Supporting U.S. Trade Agreements (ITA)
These reports contain mostly state export data.

NAFTA Ten Years Later (Export.gov)
This report covers statistics on trade under the North American Free Trade Agreement from 1993-2003.

International Trade and Tariff Data (WTO)
View the WTO's annual statistical publications on trade or tariff data, or use the interactive statistical database.

Concordances for Trade and Tariff Data
Here you can find a list of sites to convert from one classification code to another.

Foreign Trade Codes (Census Bureau)
Here you can find country codes, export codes, district codes and product codes.

Harmonized Tariff Schedule (ITC)
Tariffs on imported goods classified using the international nomenclature structure of the Harmonized Commodity Description and Coding System.

RAMON - Eurostat's Classification Codes
Classifications and nomenclatures used in European statistics.

National Trade Performances (WTO)
Trade performance analysis by country from the International Trade Centre.

USA Trade Online (password protected - come see us)
This database from the Census Bureau provides import and export data in the Harmonized System of NAICS on thousands of commodities.

UNCTAD GlobStat (UN)
Development and Globalization: Facts and Figures.

2008 National Trade Estimate Report on Foreign Trade Barriers (USTR)
This annual report provides detailed reports on individual countries regarding U.S. companies' access to their markets.

U.S. International Trade Statistics (Census Bureau)
Here you can look up U.S. imports or exports to or from other countries either by country or SITC code.

Guide to Foreign Trade Statistics: Description of the Foreign Trade Statistical Program
This guide describes and defines concepts and terminology used in trade statistics.

International Programs and Publications (Bureau of Transportation Statistics)
This agency reports on transborder freight statistics and border crossings for the United States and its contiguous neighbors.

 

Other Information

Chiefs of State and Cabinet Members of Foreign Governments
Need to know the name of the prime minister of Tuvalu? This is your site!

Key Officers List
Key State Department officers by country and how to contact them.

Eurobarometer (EU)
30 Years of public opinion analysis.

 

Subject Guide

Profile ImageGovernment, Legal, Spatial and Data Services
Contact Info:
Government, Legal, Spatial and Data Services
Malpass Library, 4th Floor
Western Illinois University
1 University Circle
Macomb, IL
61455
Send Email

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait