Library Guides: HIST 420G-Illinois History Research: Government Information

Indexes to Government Publications

Many U.S. and Illinois government agencies have issued publications related to Illinois. Government publications available in the WIU Libraries can be found using WestCat. However, the WIU Libraries also provide access to digital collections of early government publications.

The American State Papers and the U.S. Congressional Serial Set contain reports and publications that were issued by Congress, including reports that were written by government agencies and sent to Congress. The American State Papers have 110 items related to Illinois, while the U.S. Congressional Serial Set contains nearly 1,000 publications that have the word Illinois in their title. The American State Papers and the Serial Set are available digitally using the links below.

Illinois State Government Publications - can be found using WestCat or I-Share. When requested, they will be sent to the WIU Libraries in Macomb or the Quad Cities Library.

American State Papers This link opens in a new window
Index to the papers of Congress from 1789-1838. Organized by topic, they contain 110 items related to Illinois. Once an item of interest is found, the full text can be viewed or downloaded online.
U.S. Congressional Serial Set This link opens in a new window
Index to reports and publications issued by the U.S. House of Representatives and Senate. Once an item of interest is found, the full text can be viewed or downloaded online.
U.S. Congressional Serial Set Maps This link opens in a new window
Index to maps accompanying the reports and publications issued by the U.S. House of Representatives and Senate. Once an item of interest is found, the full text can be viewed or downloaded online.
I-Share This link opens in a new window
I-Share provides information about library materials at over 80 academic and research libraries located throughout Illinois. All WIU Students, Faculty and Staff can set up an account to borrow materials available in other I-Share libraries. When an item in the I-Share catalog is found, users can request that it be sent to WIU or any other I-Share library at no charge..

American State Papers (Library of Congress)
The Library of Congress has digitized the American State Papers and provides access to the digitized volumes online (for free). They contain the contain the legislative and executive documents of Congress from 1789 to 1838.

WestCat This link opens in a new window
WestCat provides information about the books, government publications, recordings, and other library materials available in the WIU Libraries. Some of the materials are available on the shelves, while others are available online.

Other Collections with Government Information

National Archives
Collects and maintains documents and publications created in the course of US government business that might be needed for legal or historical reasons (1-3% of all agency records). The National Archives Online Catalog provides information about the records available in the National Archives (over 300,000 items relate to Illinois).
National Archives Online Catalog
Can be searched to find information about records available in the National Archives (over 300,000 items relate to Illinois).
National Archives at Chicago
The National Archives has a regional archive on the southwest side of Chicago (Chicago & Dayton).
Illinois State Archives
The State Archives is a depository of public records of Illinois state and local government agencies which possess permanent administrative, legal, or historical research value. It does not contain manuscript collections. It also administers the Illinois Regional Archives Depositories (IRAD), which manage the archival records of local governments.
Archon
Archon contains descriptions of the archival records created by the Illinois government agencies. It is the primary guide to the records of Illinois state agencies.
University Archives & Special Collections
University Archives and Special Collections are located on the 6th level of Malpass Library. Archives contains records of university administrative offices and faculty and student organizations, publications issued by the university, student newspapers, yearbooks, faculty publications and papers, master's theses, photographs, oral history tapes, and memorabilia related to the university.

Special Collections contains a variety of materials that are rare, unique, or of regional interest. Most notable are The Center for Regional Authors, The Baxter-Snyder Center for Icarian Studies, and The Center for Hancock County History. Also located in this area is the Illinois Regional Archives Depository Center (IRAD), which maintains and services local government records of the 16-county area of western Illinois, as well as microfilm copies of federal and state censuses for the same region. Materials in this unit are accessed through the WIU Library Catalog or through catalogs and indexes in the unit. The materials cannot be checked out.