Library Guides: Geology: Glaciers

Glaciers

Glaciers are masses of ice formed from recrystallized snow which accumulates over time. They usually flow under their own weight. At one time much of the northern United States and Canada were covered by glaciers, resulting in a variety of glacial landforms. Now, very few glaciers exist in the contiguous U.S. In addition to the Glossary of Glacier Terminology, found in the Glossaries and Dictionary section of this guide, the following resources can be used to find information about glaciers and glacial activity.

Satellite Image Atlas of Glaciers of the World
This web site provides links to chapters of The Satellite Image Atlas of Glaciers of the World. The Atlas was developed through a long-term project that used satellite imagery to determine the areal extent and distribution of glaciers on Earth. Ten volumes of the atlas are available online from this web site.
All About Glaciers
All About Glaciers is a web site developed by the National Snow and Ice Data Center (NSDIC) Education Center that is part of the "About the Cryosphere" page. The site provides information on glaciers, how they grow and retreat, types of glaciers, and glacier research. The site also provides links to books and other educational resources. The NSDIC Education Center also provides other sites on related topics, including the Cryosphere, Frozen Ground, Snow and Sea Ice.
Glaciers: Clues to Future Climate
This web site provides access to a PDF document of a U.S. Geological Survey General Interest Publication which was written by Richard S. Williams, Jr. in 1983. The publication provides information on glaciers and glacial hazards. It also provides basic information on the late Quaternary continental glaciations in the United States.
The Great Ice Age
This U.S. Geological Survey General Interest Publication was written by Louis L Ray in 1993. It provides information on the late Quaternary continental glaciations, including the area covered by the continental glaciers, and examples of some of the evidence and deposits left by the continental ice sheets. Like other USGS General Interest Publications, it is written at a basic level which can be understood by most general readers. It is useful because it helps people understand the science of glacial geology and learn more about the records of past glaciations.

Illinois Glacial History

Quaternary Glaciations in Illinois
A web site with information about the Quaternary glaciations in Illinois. It includes maps and a link to the Quaternary Deposits Map of Illinois.
Quaternary Deposits of Illinois
A map showing surface materials of Illinois that were deposited by glaciers during the Ice Age.
Illinois State Geological Survey Glacial Geology
This web site from the Quaternary Geology Section of the Illinois State Geological Survey (ISGS), contains information on ISGS activities and resources related to the Quaternary.