Skip to Main Content
Websites
- American Memory Project
- Brought to you by the Library of Congress. 17 collectioins, to date, covering African American history.
- Black Archives of Mid-America
- The Black Archives of Mid-America, located in Kansas City, Missouri, was founded to collect and preserve the cultural history of African-Americans in the Midwest, particularly in the states of Missouri, Kansas, Iowa, and Oklahoma. With funding from the Missouri State Library, the Black Archives have collaborated with the Kansas City Public Library to digitize its collection. Heretofore, the ongoing digitization project has developed a database of more than 800 online images that chronicle the African-American experience. Visitors to this site may browse the archives database by subject area or by material type, which includes photographs, letters, narratives, documents, articles, artifacts, and publications.
-
- Encyclopedia of African American Society
- A definitive, reliable, and accessible entry point to learning the basics about African American society, this reference seeks to capture the ways in which the tenets and foundations of African American culture have given rise to today’s society. Approaching the field from a “street level” perspective, these volumes cover topics of universal interest in America: rap music, sports, television, cinema, racism, religion, literature, and much more. ***WIU login required for off-campus access.***
- Encyclopedia of Black Studies
- he Encyclopedia of Black Studies is a reference source for dynamic and innovative research on the Black experience and contains a full analysis of the economic, political, sociological, historical, literary, and philosophical issues related to Americans of African descent. ***WIU login required for off-campus access.***
