AcademyHealth
AcademyHealth is dedicated to improving the knowledge base of health care decision-making by supporting the professional development of those who conduct and use health services research, advocating for the tools and funding necessary to do this important work, and helping to translate HSR findings into policy and practice.
Adminsitration on Aging
The mission of AoA is to develop a comprehensive, coordinated and cost-effective system of home and community-based services that helps elderly individuals maintain their health and independence in their homes and communities.
Age Source/AgeStats Worldwide
identifies several hundred information resources in some 25 countries which are significant either in size or in their unique coverage of particular aging-related issues. The resources include, among others, clearinghouses, libraries, databases, training modules, major reports, and Web metasites.
http://www.aarpinternational.org/database/
American Association of Poison Control Centers
This association works to support the nation's 60 poison centers.
http://www.aapcc.org/dnn/Home.aspx
American Dietetic Association
A leading source on science-based food and nutrition information.
American Medical Association -- Public Health
AMA's site promoting Public Health
http://www.ama-assn.org/ama/pub/physician-resources/public-health.shtml
CDC WONDER
Public health databases from the Center for Disease Control. Also contains various CDC reports and guidelines. Users may complete individual registrations or register anonymous accounts.
CDC Emergency Preparadeness and Response
The Center for Disease Control's website on natural and manmade disasters.
Food and Drug Administration
Includes animal drugs, biologics, cosmetics, human drugs, foods, toxicology and medical devices, as well as radiological health information.
For Health Consumers (Medical Library Association)
http://www.mlanet.org/resources/medspeak/topten.html
The Medical Library Association (MLA) provides a list of the top ten most useful consumer health web sites
Global Health Library
Provides access to information and scientific evidence on health, particularly in developing regions.
http://www.globalhealthlibrary.net/php/index.php
Health Information from the National Insitutes of Health
Health Information on the Web (National Network of Libraries of Medicine)
Health Services Resources & Services Administration (HSRA)
Health Sevices/Technology Assessment Texts(HSTAT)(National Library of Medicine)
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/bookshelf/br.fcgi?book=hstatcollect
Healthy People 2010
Healthy People 2010 provides our Nation with the wide range of public health opportunities that exist in the first decade of the 21st century. With 467 objectives in 28 focus areas, Healthy People 2010 will be a tremendously valuable asset to health planners, medical practitioners, educators, elected officials, and all of us who work to improve health. - Message from the secretary
Illinois Emergency Management Agency (IEMA)
Images from the History of Medicine
Provides access to the nearly 60,000 images in the prints and photograph collection of the History of Medicine Division (HMD) of the U.S. National library of Medicine (NLM)
http://ihm.nlm.nih.gov/luna/servlet/view/all
KidsHealth
Sponsored and produced by the Nemours Foundation, KidsHealth features hundreds of articles and features, with different sections for parents, kids and teens.
Medline Plus
Developed by the NLM to provide authoritative, up-to-date health information to both health professionals and consumer. There are also lists of hospitals and physicians, a medical encyclopedia and dictionary, health information in Spanish, information on prescription and over-the-counter medications, news articles, and links to thousands of clinical trials.
http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/
Men's Health (Medline Plus)
General men's health links that have been selected and organized by MedlinePlus.
http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/menshealth.html
National Academy of Sciences
http://www.nationalacademies.org/
NewScientist Epidemics and Pandemics
http://www.newscientist.com/topic/epidemic
Occupational Health Research Resource Center
http://www.systoc.com/healthresources/resources.aspx
Reports of the Surgeon General
http://profiles.nlm.nih.gov/NN/
Robert Wood Johnson Foundation
The site of the largest philanthropic organization in the U.S. devoted to health and health care provides a wealth of information on its funding opportunities and the many hundreds of research studies and programs it has funded since its inception in 1972, including reports, data collections, newletters, and anthologies.
Social Science Research Council
The Social Science Research Council (SSRC) is an independent, nongovernmental, not-for-profit, international association devoted to the advancement of interdisciplinary research in the social sciences.
Social Science Reseach Network
Social Science Research Network (SSRN) is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research and is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences.
State Health Facts Online
http://www.statehealthfacts.org/
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
U.S. Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA)
Federal agency responsible for coordinating the response to large disasters, both natural and intentional. The site is divided into five major subject categories listed in a banner at the top: Disaster Communities; Emergency Personnel; Education & Training; News Media; and Regions. Each category contains numerous links to various parts of the web site. There are also numerous links in the left column of the web site. It is best to navigate through either of these locations, rather than using the sub-par site search option.
U.S. Public Health Service
The Federal government agency charged with promoting the health of the nation. Describes the mission and activities of the PHS and offers access to health information, current news and public affairs, contracts and grants, job vacancies, health observances, and Commissioned Corps information. Discusses the goals and functions of the PSH service agencies, which include the Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry, Food and Drug Administration, Indian Health Services and Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration.
http://www.usaid.gov/our_work/global_health/id/index.html#
USDOD Global Emerging Infections System
http://fhp.osd.mil/aiWatchboard/dodleadership.jsp
WebMD
WebMD offers health and wellness information, articles, news, and interactive tools.