Library Guides: Instructional Design & Technology: Databases

Databases for IDT

IDT covers a broad range of disciplines. So while there is no single best database, there are a number that provide good covereage from a variety of perspectives.

Selected Databases

ABI Inform This link opens in a new window
ABI/INFORM is the industry standard for business research covering all disciplines. IDT topics include web design and development, training, social networks, and mobile paltform design.
ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
The ACM Digital Library is a research, discovery and networking platform containing: The Full-Text Collection has Most) all ACM publications, including journals, conference proceedings, technical magazines, newsletters and books.The Journals/Transactions are a good place to browse and find areas that relate to the area of IDT you are looking at.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
A general purpose database, ASP ontains indexing and abstracts for over 8,450 journals, with full text for more than 4,600 of those titles. PDF backfiles to 1975 or further are available for well over one hundred journals, and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles. If you have one place to start for IDT information, this would be a best bet.
ERIC-Education Resources Information Center This link opens in a new window
ERIC is a great srouce for instructional design topic from an educational perspective at the primary and secondary level.
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts This link opens in a new window
The database is a good resource for studying web development, interface design, training and instruction with a focus on informational aspects.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Contains good full text coverage of instructional design from a cognitive, behaviroal, affective standpoint, including machine systems, individualized and programmed instruction, and computer assisted instruction.