This is a selection of readings covering a variety of topics ranging from the fundamental goals of traditional archives, ongoing transitions and translations into digital formats, possibilities for online archival resources, the participation of audiences in the creation of online sites, and case studies of how archival work was incorporated into classroom projects. These articles and books offer an excellent starting point for anyone interested in learning more about these topics, as well as mentioning other related sources for further study.
Buehl, Jonathan, et al. “Training in the Archives: Archival Research as Professional Development.” Landmark Essays on Archival Research, edited by Lynée Lewis Gaillet et al., Routledge, 2016, pp. 256–279.
Dingwall, Glenn. “Digital Preservation: From Possible to Practical.” Currents of Archival Thinking, edited by Heather MacNeil and Terry Eastwood, 2nd ed., ABC-CLIO, 2017, pp. 135–161.
Enoch, Jessica, and Pamela VanHaitsma. “Archival Literacy: Reading the Rhetoric of Digital Archives in the Undergraduate Classroom.” College Composition and Communication, vol. 67, no. 2, 2015, pp. 216–242. JSTOR, www.jstor.org/stable/24633856.
Eveleigh, Alexandra. “Participatory Archives.” Currents of Archival Thinking, edited by Heather MacNeil and Terry Eastwood, 2nd ed., ABC-CLIO, 2017, pp. 299–325.
Martin, Julia, and David Coleman. “Change the Metaphor: The Archive as an Ecosystem.” Journal of Electronic Publishing, vol. 7, no. 3, 2002.
Morris, Sammie L., and Shirley K. Rose. “Invisible Hands: Recognizing Archivists’ Work to Make Records Accessible.” Landmark Essays on Archival Research, edited by Lynée Lewis Gaillet et al., Routledge, 2016, pp. 200–217.
Pearce-Moses, Richard. A Glossary of Archival and Records Terminology. Society of American Archivists, 2005.
Theimer, Kate. “Archives in Context and as Context.” Journal of Digital Humanities, vol. 1, no. 2, 2012.
VanHaitsma, Pamela. “New Pedagogical Engagements with Archives: Student Inquiry and Composing in Digital Spaces.” College English, vol. 78, no. 1, 2015, pp. 34–55. JSTOR, jstor.org/stable/44075096.
Vetter, Matthew A. “Archive 2.0: What Composition Students and Academic Libraries Can Gain from Digital-Collaborative Pedagogies.” Composition Studies, vol. 42, no. 1, 2014, pp. 35–53.