Library Guides: THEA 587: Problems in Acting/Directing: The Score: Databases, Journal Articles

Databases | Performing Arts Research

Best Databases for THEA 587

International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance Coverage: general indexing; full text: 100 periodicals & 50 books Years: 1958- Topics: Theatre and Dance
JSTOR JSTOR is a multi-disciplinary journal archive that includes full-text. It currently includes more than 2,000 academic journals, dating back to the first volume ever published, along with thousands of monographs and other materials relevant for education. We have digitized more than 50 million pages and continue to digitize approximately 3 million pages annually. Our activities, our fee structure, and the way we manage the service and its resources reflect our historical commitment to serve colleges and universities as a trusted digital archive, and our responsibility to publishers as stewards of their content.
Music Periodicals Database (formerly IIMP) indexes/abstracts 430+ international music periodicals; full text for 110 journals
Project Muse Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social sciences content; since 1995, its electronic journal collections have supported a wide array of research needs at academic, public, special, and school libraries worldwide. MUSE books and journals, from leading university presses and scholarly societies, are fully integrated for search and discovery.
Oxford Music Online Index to articles, images and audio; selected full-text

Secondary options for THEA 587

Academic Search Complete Coverage: 4,700 full-text journals; 8,200 scholarly journals (index/abstracts) Years: dates vary Topics: all areas; including business, social sciences, humanities, general academic, general science and education.
Dissertations & Theses Global (ProQuest)
ProQuest Digitized Newspapers (Chicago Tribune, New York Times) An index to articles that appeared in the Chicago Tribune from 1849-1986.

New York Times Arts Section

Additional Performing Arts Databases

Naxos Music Library Streaming music; 75,000+ CDs
ERIC-Education Resources Information Center Over one million citations to articles, documents, and reports. All aspects of education (includes Resources in Education and Current Index to Journals in Education).

Note: ERIC is searchable through EBSCO. See Database Search Tips to the right for more info.

IPA Transcriptions & literal translations of opera arias and art song texts (11,000+ titles)
Oxford Music Online Index to articles, images and audio; selected full-text

IMSLP Petrucci Music Library Scores, parts, recordings, text, and more all in public domain

Using WestCat to Access Journals

If you know the journal you want, but you don't know which WIU database has access to that journal, you can search by the Title of the Journal or by the journal's ISSN.

WestCat Journal Search

Search Databases by Subject

If your topic is interdisciplinary, you may want to check outside of music databases. Try searching by the secondary subject area of your topics, or try searching in interdisciplinary databases like Academic Source Complete for with your topic's keywords.
Search Databases by Subject

Curious if we have access to a particular database?
Search our A to Z List

Database Search Tips

Request Books, Scores, or Articles Beyond WIU's Access

If a journal is not held in WIU's resources, you can request articles from that journal using ILLiad.

To request books or scores, use I-Share by selecting "All I-Share Libraries" from the WestCat search bar.

ILLiad (Ordering Books & Other Materials, OR Articles)

Scroll down to #3 for instruction on completing an ILLiad request.

EBSCO

EBSCO
A collection of major bibliographic databases for all fields, including business, education, health, government, history, literature, political science, psychology, religion, sociology, and leisure

Theater & Dance Journals

American Drama Publishes studies of dramatic literature from the earliest to the most recent playwrights, featuring critical examination of trends and discussions of diversity in the script for stage, film, radio, and television.
American Theatre Each issue features reports on plays in print, performances, and theater season schedules in the US and abroad. Includes full-length play scripts five times per year.
Asian Theatre Journal (Current Issues) Official journal of the Association for Asian Performance within the Association for Theatre in Higher Education. Peer reviewed articles covering the performing arts of Asia, focusing on both traditional and modern theatrical forms.
Asian Theatre Journal (Older Volumes) Official journal of the Association for Asian Performance within the Association for Theatre in Higher Education. Peer reviewed articles covering the performing arts of Asia, focusing on both traditional and modern theatrical forms.
Back Stage East Provides weekly comprehensive casting notices for actors, singers, dancers, & other performers for major East coast productions.
Back Stage (New York) A weekly newspaper covering the world of performing arts in North America.
Comparative Drama Feature articles and thematic issues on all aspects of drama, international in spirit and interdisciplinary in scope.
Dance Chronicle To serious students and lovers of dance, Dance Chronicle is indispensable for keeping up with this rapidly changing field. It covers a wide variety of topics, including dance and music, theater, film, literature, painting, and aesthetics. Offering the best from both established dance historians and the new generation of dance scholars, Dance Chronicle is an ideal source for those who love dance, both past and present.
Dance Magazine A look at today's exciting world of dance, color feaures of the most talked about companies and performers, dance news, reviews of performances, dance books, films and TV, and more.
Dance Research Dance Research: The Journal of the Society for Dance Research is essential reading for those involved in the study and practice of dance. Dance Research is edited and published in Britain with the assistance of a distinguished group of editorial consultants based in Europe and the USA. The journal provides an international forum for the presentation and discussion of contemporary dance research and contains a section of comprehensive book and journal reviews.
Dance Research Journal Dance Research Journal, a biannual publication of The Congress on Research in Dance (CORD), is oriented primarily toward historical and critical theory of dance. DRJ features articles, book reviews, research, and dialogues which span disciplines including anthropology, education, pedagogy, gender and sexuality, criticism, intercultural studies, and somatics. The journal also reports on scholarly conferences, archives, and other projects of interest to the field. DRJ encourages interdisciplinary
Dance Spirit Training tips, advice from experts, exercises designed for dancers, combinations and competition news and results.
The Drama Review Provides scholarship on performances and their social, economic, and political contexts. With an emphasis on the interdisciplinary, experimental, and avant-garde, the journal covers dance theater, performance art, popular entertainment, media, sports, and rituals in politics and everyday life.
Educational Theatre Journal Drawing contributions from noted practitioners and scholars, Educational Theatre Journal features social and historical studies, production reviews, and theoretical inquiries that analyze dramatic texts and production. Recent special issues include "Re-Thinking the Real," "Ancient Theatre," "Dance," and "Theatre and Activism." Theatre Journal is published in cooperation with the Association for Theatre in Higher Education (ATHE).
International Journal of Scottish Theatre There has been no existing journal engaged in the serious study of Scottish theatre to meet the developing needs of this growing market. The International Journal of Scottish Theatre fills this gap. IJOST publishes papers from any perspective, practical or theoretic, theatrical, dramatic, dramaturgic, critical, historical, economic, political, sociological, or from any other discipline. It particularly welcomes papers with an interdisciplinary or innovative approach.
Journal of Theatrical Combatives
Modern Drama Modern Drama was founded in 1958 and is the most prominent journal in English to focus on dramatic literature. The journal features refereed articles that enhance our understanding of plays in both formal and historical terms, largely treating literature of the past two centuries from diverse geo-political contexts, as well as an extensive book review section. Published quarterly.
The New Dance Review TITLE CEASED. Feature articles on dancers, dance companies, productions and essays on historical ballet; interviews; includes a calendar of who's dancing what at the Royal Ballet, Covent Garden, London.
New Theatre Quarterly New Theatre Quarterly provides a vital international forum where theatrical scholarship and practice can meet and where prevailing dramatic assumptions can be subjected to vigorous critical questioning. It shows that theatre history has a contemporary relevance, that theatre studies need a methodology and that theatre criticism needs a language. The journal publishes news, analysis and debate within the field of theatre studies.
Nineteenth Century Theatre and Film This journal contains interesting materials not available elsewhere, and it is well covered in indexing services. Issues appear two times per year and contain two or three feature articles that cover nineteenth-century performance issues in the United States, Western Europe, and Russia. This journal's articles are not limited to theater; all performance forms may be covered, film in particular. The editors define "film" in this context as including "'pre-cinema' optical and narrative forms, 'sil
North Dakota Journal of Speech & Theatre A forum for cross-disciplinary research that contributes to excellence in speech & theatre education & to scholarly knowledge in the communication discipline.
Onstage No longer published. Onstage is the live performance magazine for bands and musicians. Onstage interviews popular artists on the realities of touring and "the business," and is a complete source for new performance product information and reviews, performance applications and techniques, music business resources, and marketing and promotional ideas for pro and semi-pro bands and musicians.
Performing Arts & Entertainment in Canada Articles on all aspects of the Canadian performing arts, including music, festivals, theater, dance and the screen.
Performing Arts Journal (Older Issues) PAJ has been responsible for the publication of more than 1000 plays and performance texts, translated from twenty languages. It is an influential force in arts publishing, influencing the university curriculum, the field of performance scholarship and documentation, and the theatrical repertoire.
PAJ: A Journal of Performance and Art (Current Issues) PAJ brings together theatre and the visual arts for a challenging cross-media perspective. The issues feature artists' writings, critical commentary, interviews and dialogues, roundtable discussions, historical documents, book reviews, performance texts and plays. A special section entitled "Art & Performance Notes" offers reviews of current productions and gallery exhibits, as well as international festival reports.
Plays - The Drama Magazine for Young People One-act plays for lower, middle & upper grades. Seven to ten plays per issue.
Shakespeare Bulletin Covers performance criticism and scholarship, provides commentary on Shakespeare and Renaissance drama through feature articles, theatre and film reviews, and book reviews. Serves as a record of production in the United States, Canada, the United Kingdom, and throughout the world.
Shakespeare Newsletter Provides news, reviews of books and performances, abstracts, and brief critical articles on all aspects of Shakespeare, his works, and his world.
Shakespeare Studies An international volume of essays, studies and reviews dealing with the cultural history of early modern England and the place of Shakespeare's production in it.
The Sondheim Review The Sondheim Review is the quarterly magazine dedicated to the work of the musical theatre and Broadway's foremost composer and lyricist, Stephen Sondheim. Each issue contains news, interviews, features, reviews, historical information, upcoming productions in your area, puzzles, and more. Our correspondents in New York, Los Angeles, Chicago, London, and all over the world bring you the latest, most accurate information and insights.
Stage of the Art Practical articles on theater education with an emphasis on classroom instruction, preschool - 12th grades.
Theater For more than thirty years Theater has been the most informative, serious, and imaginative American journal available to readers interested in contemporary theater. It has been the first publisher of pathbreaking plays from writers as diverse as Rinde Eckert, Richard Foreman, David Greenspan, W. David Hancock, Peter Handke, Sarah Kane, and Adrienne Kennedy. Theater has also featured lively polemics and essays by dramatists including Dario Fo, Heiner Müller, Suzan-Lori Parks, and Mac Wellman. Sp
Theatre History Studies Scholarly journal covering theatre history
Theatre Journal (Older Issues) Theatre Journal's broad array of scholarly articles and reviews has earned it an international reputation as one of the most authoritative and useful publications of theatre studies available today. Drawing contributions from noted practitioners and scholars, Theatre Journal features social and historical studies, production reviews, and theoretical inquiries that analyze dramatic texts and production. Recent special issues include "Re-Thinking the Real," "Ancient Theatre," "Dance," and "Theatre
Theatre Journal (Current Issues) Theatre Journal's broad array of scholarly articles and reviews has earned it an international reputation as one of the most authoritative and useful publications of theatre studies available today. Drawing contributions from noted practitioners and scholars, Theatre Journal features social and historical studies, production reviews, and theoretical inquiries that analyze dramatic texts and production.
Theatre Survey Theatre Survey is chartered by the American Society for Theatre Research as a theatre history journal. Its theatrical and historical orientations are broadly conceived. Performance-centered and historiographic studies from all points across the historical, cultural, and methodological spectra are welcome. Recent issues have included an article on the early professional deaf theatre in post-Stalinist Soviet Union, a study of the gestural vocabulary found in surviving images of early commedia dell
Theatre Topics The first theatre publication devoted to issues of concern to practitioners, Theatre Topics focuses on performance studies, dramaturgy, and theatre pedagogy. Concise and timely articles on a broad array of practical, performance-oriented subjects, with special attention to topics of current interest to the profession, keep readers informed of the latest developments on the stage and in the classroom. The journal's audience includes scholars and students of theatre, educators, members of theatre
TheatreForum Focuses on contemprary internatinal performance. Each issue invludes at least two previously unpublished scripts.