Library Guides: Social Work: Home

Books in the Library

101 Careers in Social Work, Third Edition by Jessica A. Ritter; Ann Obermann; Kristin Danhoff
ISBN: 9780826143259

Publication Date: 2019-12-28
Critical Social Work Praxis by Sobia Shaheen Shaikh (Editor); Brenda A. LeFrançois (Editor); Teresa Macías (Editor)
ISBN: 9781773631912

Publication Date: 2022-05-17
Handbook of Health Social Work by Sarah Gehlert; Teri Browne
ISBN: 9781119421245

Publication Date: 2019-08-20
Handbook of Social Work with Groups by Charles D. Garvin (Editor); Lorraine M. Gutiérrez (Editor); Maeda J. Galinsky (Editor)
ISBN: 9781462530588

Publication Date: 2017-06-27
A New History of Social Work by John H. Pierson
ISBN: 0429024274

Publication Date: 2021-09-09
Reciprocal Relationships and Well-Being by Maritta Törrönen (Editor); Carol Munn-Giddings (Editor); Laura Tarkiainen (Editor)
ISBN: 1138645079

Publication Date: 2017-12-22
Using the Law in Social Work by Robert Johns; Jacqueline Harry
ISBN: 9781529799569

Publication Date: 2023-01-31

Quick Social Work Web Links

Newsletter designed to enhance the practice of North Carolina's child welfare workers by providing them with information about research and practice models.

Community Care

Publication "for everyone in social care" carrying news and views on UK social services

Help Starts Here

This web site is a gateway to articles written by licensed social workers that are of interest to the general public. The articles are geared toward (1) individuals and families who need reliable, accurate information about health, behavioral, environmental, social, and mental health issues; and (2) people who are considering a career in social work or who would like to know more about the profession.

The New Social Worker Online

An electronic companion to the print magazine devoted to social work students and recent graduates. Includes full-text articles, an online career center, and social work links.

Respond

UK-based charity supporting people with learning disabilities, their relatives and professionals affected by trauma and abuse. Carries 'easy-read' information.

Social Care Institute for Excellence

UK resource of good practice and knowledge aimed at improvement of social care services with focus on central role of people who use services.

Social Workers Speak

This site developed by the National Association of Social Workers gives students, professionals and the general public a forum for critiquing and improving the way social workers and social issues are covered in the news media and portrayed in the entertainment industries.

Society for Social Work and Research (SSWR)

A non-profit association committed to improving the support for research among social workers.

Databases

Child Development & Adolescent Studies
This bibliographic database is today's source for references to the current and historical literature related to the growth and development of children through the age of 21.
Family & Society Studies Worldwide
This bibliographic database provides the most comprehensive coverage of research, policy and practice literature in the fields of family science, human ecology, human development and social welfare.
Family & Society Studies Worldwide
This bibliographic database provides the most comprehensive coverage of research, policy and practice literature in the fields of family science, human ecology, human development and social welfare.
Family Studies Abstracts
With bibliographic records covering family dynamics topics, Family Studies Abstracts is an excellent source for family studies researchers. Scholars can access unique content and highly regarded works.
PsycINFO
PsycINFO® is an expansive abstracting and indexing database with more than 3 million records devoted to peer-reviewed literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health, making it an ideal discovery and linking tool for scholarly research in a host of disciplines.
PTSDpubs (Health/Medicine; via ProQuest)
indexes/abstracts intl. journals, books, reports, newsletters, & dissertations related to post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)
Social Services Abstracts
Indexes/abstracts 1,400+ periodicals; also dissertation and book review citations
Sociological Abstracts
Sociological Abstracts offers access to the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides in-depth and non-evaluative abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800 serial publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. The database backfile dates to 1952.