Library Guides: Geography: Indexes & Databases

Indexes & Databases

Science Citation Index (via Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
SCI is an interdisciplinary index to articles in over 3,500 journals from 2004 to the present. It can be used to search for information on who has cited an article. It can also be used to sign up for an account to EndNote, an online system that can be used to access, update and organize references for research.
GeoRef This link opens in a new window
An index to US, North American and World literature in the geosciences and physical geography that have been published since the 1600s. GeoRef indexes articles in journals and books, as well as books, maps, government publications, conference proceedings, technical reports, theses and dissertations. For information on searching GeoRef, see the GeoRef Search Guide.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
An index to articles in in over 8,000 popular and scholarly periodicals. Includes over 4,200 full-text journals. Full text can also be found using the Find It! button.
Biological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
An index to articles in over 4000 journals in the Biological Sciences, from 1996 to the present. Full text can be found using the Find It! button.
AGRICOLA This link opens in a new window
AGRICOLA is an index to over 4 million citations to journal articles, books, book chapters, government and other publications related to agriculture. It contains information on materials published since 1970, including links to digital publications when available. To find a subject term for a particular topic, use the Agricola Thesaurus.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
An index to research on social and cultural issues, including geography.
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Indexes scholarly journals related to the history of North America, including historical geography, from prehistoric times to the present. The Findit! WIU Libraries button can be used to determine if the article is available in the WIU Libraries or online. Articles that are not available in the Libraries can be borrowed through Interlibrary Loan.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
An index to articles related to World history from 1450 to the present. It includes articles related to historical geography. Does not index articles related to North America.

JSTOR Geography Journals
Back issues of major geography journals that have been digitized and are available through JSTOR.
WIU Libraries Databases & Indexes
The Libraries provides access to more than 120 electronic general, multidisciplinary and discipline-specific databases. In addition to indexing and abstracting resources, the databases also supply full-text articles from over 48,000 journals, magazines and newspapers. Virtually all of the databases are available to WIU students, faculty and staff who are on or off-campus. To log into a database from off campus, use your WIU ECOM email account username/password. A small handful of CD-ROM and other databases are only available in the library.
NOAA Central Library Catalog
The NOAA Library catalog can be used to locate publications on a wide variety of topics, including weather and atmospheric science. It includes information on government publications.
NOAA Central Library Digital Documents and Maps Collection
A digital collection of publications and maps from NOAA, including daily weather maps (1871-2002), Monthly Weather Review and Foreign Climate Data.
Science & Engineering Journal Abbreviations Search System
This site from the University of British Columbia can be used to find the title of a journal by searching its abbreviation.
ESRI GIS Bibliography
A bibliography to significant literature on Geographic Information Systems (GIS), originally started by Professor Duane Marble at The Ohio State University. The searchable bibliography contains over...

Place Names

Geographic Names Information System (GNIS)
An index to over 2-million place names in the United States and U.S. Territories that appear on 7.5" topographic maps. This site can be used to identify the name(s) of maps that show a particular feature or location.
GeoNet World Place Names Server
An index to the place names outside of the U.S. and its Territories that have been collected by U.S. government mapping agencies and approved by the U.S. Board of Geographic Names.

Is it a Refereed (Peer-Reviewed) Journal?

Ulrich's International Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Ulrich's is an index that lists over 300,000 periodicals and journals by title, and provides information on the publisher, indexing and subjects. It can be used to determine whether a journal is peer reviewed (refereed).