Geography: Online Images & Photographs

A digital collection of historical aerial photography for Illinois.

Digital orthophotos of Illinois from the National Aerial Photography Program (NAPP), taken between 1998 and 2001. Orthophotos are aerial photographs that have been corrected for camera tilt.

EarthExplorer is an online search, discovery, and access tool developed by the U.S. Geological Survey (USGS). Through EarthExplorer users can search inventories of satellite and remote sensing images and aerial photographs to find images, complete with metadata. In addition, images can be downloaded from the site.

A collection of photographs and images on a wide variety of geoscience topics provided by the American Geosciences Institute (AGI). The Image Bank makes quality geoscience images available to the public, educators, and the earth science community.

This site from NOAA contains photos that were taken by officers, scientists and engineers of the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration.

A special collection of images and image collections from the EROS (Earth Resources Observation and Science) Data Center. This site includes images from collection that can be downloaded, including Earth as Art and Voyage of Lewis and Clark.

The U.S. Geological Survey has a collection of over 400,000 taken in the process of doing geologic research in the United States and U.S. territories from 1868 to the present. These images document the discovery, development, and science in the U.S. done by the Geological Survey and its predecessors. This site provides online access to some of these photographs.

This site contains information on Landsat missions and provides links to sites that can be used to access images from the Landsat satellites, which have collected Earth observations and remote sensing imagery since 1972.

An open access collection of geoscience related images from the European Geosciences Union.