Library Guides: Agriculture: Reference Sources

Online Dictionaries & Reference Works

AGRICOLA Thesaurus
A list of subject headings used to describe publications that are indexed in AGRICOLA.
National Agriculture Library Glossary
National Agricultural Library and Inter-American Institute for Cooperation on Agriculture, 2017. [National Agriculture Library] Glossary 2017 Edition. Bethesda, MD: National Agriculture Library. Accessed August 1, 2017.
A Glossary of Agricultural Terms, Programs and Laws
A publication from the Congressional Research Service developed as part of the work done to develop a new Farm Bill. It is available in the University of North Texas Digital Repository.
English-Spanish Glossary of Terminology used in Forestry, Range, Wildlife, Fishery, Soils and Botany
Medina, Alvin L., 1988. An English-Spanish Glossary of Terminology used in Forestry, Range, Wildlife, Fishery, Soils and Botany. Fort Collins, CO: Rocky Mountain Forest & Range Experiment Station, United States Forest Service. (PDF File).
A dictionary of terms in forestry, range and wildlife management, botany and soils published by the Rocky Mountain Forest & Range Experiment Station of the US Forest Service.
AGROVOC Multilingual Agricultural Thesaurus
A publication from the Food & Agriculture Organization of the United Nations that provides information on terms related to food, nutrition, agriculture, fisheries, forestry and the environment in 23 languages.
Science & Engineering Journal Abbreviations Search System
This site from the University of British Columbia can be used to find the title of a journal by searching its abbreviation.

Online Encyclopedias

Sage Reference Series on a Green Environment
A collection of publications and reference books on the environment published by Sage Publishing. This link includes books in the Sage Reference Series on a Green Society.
Encyclopedia of Earth
An openly accessible, interdisciplinary encyclopedia on all aspects of the Earth and Environmental Sciences.
Encyclopedia of Environment and Society
Robbins, Paul, Ed. Encyclopedia of Environment and Society. Thousand Oaks: Sage Publications; 2007.
Encyclopedia of Sustainability Science and Technology
An encyclopedia on sustainability published by Springer that includes over 500 peer reviewed articles in over 38 subject areas, including natural resources, conservation and agriculture.

Print Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Goodman, Robert M., editor, 2004. Encyclopedia of plant and crop science. New York: M. Dekker. Malpass Library Reference, 2^nd Floor REF SB45 .E486 2004

Holliday, Paul, 1998. A dictionary of plant pathology, 2^nd edition. New York: Cambridge University Press. Malpass Library Reference, 2^nd Floor REF SB728 .H65 1998

Lewis, Robert A., 2002. CRC dictionary of agricultural sciences. Boca Raton: CRC Press. Malpass Library Reference, 2^nd Floor REF S411 .L39 2002

Stephens, Alan, 1998. Dictionary of Agriculture, 2^nd edition. Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn Publishers, Incorporated. Malpass Library Reference, 2^nd Floor REF S411 .D573 1998