Biological Sciences: General Biology

A collaborative collection of over 9000 web pages providing information on the diversity, evolution and characteristics of organisms.

This website can be used to explore the tree of life by zooming in and out to view various branches of life. The site also provides free, open source data visualization tools that can be used to visualize data.

A database of taxonomic information on plants, animals, fungi and microbes of North America and the World. It contains information on over 600,000 scientific and common names of species. Records include information on the taxonomy of a given species and references to other information on the species. Some records include information on when the species was first named.

A non-commercial educational web site developed by the American Institute of Biological Sciences to promote literacy in the biological sciences. It contains over 160 peer-reviewed articles on various topics in the biological sciences.

A consortium of natural history and botanical libraries is cooperatively digitizing older publications related to biology, biodiversity and natural so that they can be freely viewed and used online. The library can be searched or browsed by title, author or subject. Images from the publications can be used in publications, but remember to cite the source!

A web site and forum developed and run by biology enthusiasts that includes links to articles, tutorials, books and a dictionary that have been contributed by members. The site, which includes ads, is moderated by several biology students and teachers. The content is not peer-reviewed.

Cryptozoology, the study of hidden animals, continues to captivate enthusiasts and scientists. Reports of unacknowledged creatures, or “cryptids,” have fueled curiosity and skepticism. While some view cryptozoology as vital for expanding our understanding of biodiversity, skeptics stress the need for rigorous scientific methods. Technological advancements offer new avenues for research, providing hope for future discoveries.