Skip to Main Content

African American Studies: Dictionaries, Encyclopedias & Handbooks

Department Research Guides identify and define standard information retrieval tools for a specific department. Each guide was created and is maintained by the library liaison for that department. We encourage you to recommend resources for the guides.

African American

  • The African American Encyclopedia (REF/E/185/A253)
  • Encyclopedia of African American Society (REF/E/185/E546)
  • Black Women in America (REF/E/185.86/B542)
  • Contemporary Black Biography (REF/E/185/C65)
  • Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History (REF/E/185/E54)
  • Encyclopedia of African American History, 1619-1896 (REF/E/185/E545)
  • Encyclopedia of African American Society
  • Encyclopedia of Black Studies (REF/E/185/E554)
  • Encyclopedia of the Great Black Migration (REF/E/185.6/E54)
  • Greenwood Encyclopedia of African American Civil Rights (REF/E/185.61/E54)
  • Notable Black American Men (REF/E/185.86/N68)

Africa

  • Encyclopedia of African History (REF/DT/20/E53)
  • Encyclopedia of African History and Culture (REF/DT/3/P27)
  • Encyclopedia of Africa South of the Sahara (REF/DT/351/E53)
  • New Encyclopedia of Africa (REF/DT/2/N48)

Biography

  • An African Biographical Dictionary (REF/DT/18/B76)
  • American National Biography (REF/CT/213/A68)
  • Black Americans in Autobiography (REF/E/185.96/B74)
  • Black Women in America (REF/E/185.86/B542)
  • Contemporary Black Biography (REF/E/185/C65)
  • Encyclopedia of World Biography (REF/CT/103/E56)
  • Notable Black American Men (REF/E/185.86/N68)
  • Notable Black American Women (REF/E/185.96/N68)

Culture

  • Countries and Their Cultures (REF/GN/307/C68)
  • Encyclopedia of Food and Culture (REF/GT/2850/E53)
  • Encyclopedia of Race, Ethnicity, and Society (REF/HT/1521/E63)
  • Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life (REF/GN/333/W67)