WIU Home WIU Home WIU Home WIU QC

Health Sciences & Social Work: Home

Department Research Guides identify and define standard information retrieval tools for a specific department. Each guide was created and is maintained by the library liaison for that department. We encourage you to recommend resources for the guides.

REFERENCE

Have a question?  This link will take you to the Libraries Website:  Ask a Librarian

OR

You may wish to call the Reference Desk:

Phone: 800/413-6544 or (309) 298-2700

Quick Health Web Links

Guides lay persons and non-medical users and medical practitioners to useful and reliable online medical and health information. Provides leadership in setting ethical standards for Web site developers.
Resource for consumers, physicians, nurses, and educators. Includes news, chat forums, health quizzes and consumer product updates.
Features current news plus archives, guides by subject, "Ask a Doctor", searchable conditions database, message board, and e-mail newsletter subscription.
Find advice, information about diseases and drugs, fitness tips, and news items.

WELCOME

Welcome to the Health Sciences Department's  Library Page.  I am the Library Liaison  to the Health Sciences Department. Please contact me if you have any specific items that you would like added to the library's collections and budget pending we will get the resources needed. On this page you will find Library Resources which will aid you in your research.  If you have suggestions or comments, please let me know.

Michael Lorenzen

 

Quick Social Work Web Links

Newsletter designed to enhance the practice of North Carolina's child welfare workers by providing them with information about research and practice models.
Publication "for everyone in social care" carrying news and views on UK social services
Providing expertise in social work services to Local Authorities and Child Care Solicitors. Registered with the Social Care Council and Member of the Professional Association for Childrens Guardians, Family Court Advisers and Independent Social Work Practioners and Consultants.
This web site is a gateway to articles written by licensed social workers that are of interest to the general public. The articles are geared toward (1) individuals and families who need reliable, accurate information about health, behavioral, environmental, social, and mental health issues; and (2) people who are considering a career in social work or who would like to know more about the profession.
An electronic companion to the print magazine devoted to social work students and recent graduates. Includes full-text articles, an online career center, and social work links.
The Nurtured Heart Path provides counseling, consultation, parent coaching, conference services and training to individuals, families, agencies and school systems throughout Michigan.
UK-based charity supporting people with learning disabilities, their relatives and professionals affected by trauma and abuse. Carries 'easy-read' information.
UK resource of good practice and knowledge aimed at improvement of social care services with focus on central role of people who use services.
A live, global social work news portal updated every few minutes. Includes a searchable database of thousands of categorized and geographically tagged news items.
Directory of social work links.
This site developed by the National Association of Social Workers gives students, professionals and the general public a forum for critiquing and improving the way social workers and social issues are covered in the news media and portrayed in the entertainment industries.
A non-profit association committed to improving the support for research among social workers.

Professor, University Libraries

Dr. Michael Lorenzen's picture
Dr. Michael Lorenzen
Contact:
Leslie F. Malpass Library 638
1 University Circle
Macomb, IL 61455-1390
309-298-1939 (Office), 309-298-2717 (Archives)
Website