Library Guides: Physics: Digital Collections & Databases

Digital Collections

Information in Physics can be found by using Library indexes to locate information on publications on many topics related to Physics and Astronomy. However, other sources available. Many publications related to Physics & Astronomy can be found in openly accessible digital archives. The resources below contain collections of openly accessible publications in the Physics and Astronomy.

Publications & Preprints

arXiv
ArXiv is a collection of e-prints in physics, mathematics, computer science and other subject areas.
CERN Document Server
The Server is an index that was developed by CERN, the European Organization for Nuclear Research, which contains over 650,000 records (including over 300,000 openly accessible full-text publications), related to particle physics and related fields. It includes preprints, articles, books, journals, photographs, and other resources.
Einstein Archives Online
An online collection of information and digitized manuscripts from the Einstein Papers Project at California Institute of Technology.
High-Energy Physics Literature Database (HEP)
HEP is an index and database developed by the Stanford Linear Accelerator that contains over 570,000 records for to information resources in particle physics, including journal articles, preprints, e-prints, technical reports, conference papers and theses.
Mathematical Physics Preprint Archive
The Preprint Archive is a digital archive to research papers in Mathematical Physics and related areas from the University of Texas' Department of Mathematics.
NASA Astrophysics Data System
A digital library for researchers in Astronomy and Physics. It contains 3 bibliographic indexes to literature in Astronomy & Astrophysics, Physics and arXiv and includes full-text scans of articles, as well as pointers to data catalogs and other archives. It contains over 9.2 million records.
Optics Infobase
An index to journals in optics and photonics published by the Optical Society of America.
SciTech Connect
An index to publications related to science, technology and engineering from the U.S. Department of Energy. It contains citations to datasets, multimedia resources, books, conference proceedings, journal articles, patents, technical reports and theses & dissertations, including some full-text resources.

Images

The following web sites contain collections of images related to Physics and Astronomy:

NASA Image Gallery
A search engine that can look for photographs and images on a wide variety of topics at all NASA sites. Most photographs are digital and can be viewed online.
Emilio Segrè Visual Archives
A collection of photographs of physicists, astronomers and other scientists provided by the American Institute of Physics is one of the many digital collections of the Niels Bohr Library & Archives. The Library also has a Moving Image (Movie) Collection.
NASA HEASARC Images, Spectra, and Light Curves from Celestial High Energy Sources
A collection of images related to astronomy & astrophysics provided by the NASA High Energy Astrophysics Science Archive Research Center (HEASARC) Education & Public Information office.
Hubble Telescope Heritage Project
Information about the Hubble Space Telescope, which includes a collection of images taken by the Hubble Telescope provided by the Space Telescope Science Institute (STScI).
Material Physics Image Gallery
A collection of images related to many fields of material physics provided by the American Physical Society's Division of Material Physics.