Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
WIU Home WIU Home WIU Home WIU QC

Recreation, Park & Tourism Administration: Dictionaries, Encyclopedias & Handbooks

Department Research Guides identify and define standard information retrieval tools for a specific department. Each guide was created and is maintained by the library liaison for that department. We encourage you to recommend resources for the guides.

Encyclopedias

  • Encyclopedia of American National Parks. - Rothman. 2004. REF E160 .E53 2004.
  • Encyclopedia of Leisure and Outdoor Recreation. - Jenkins. 2003. REF GV11 E55 2003.
  • Encyclopedia of Recreation and Lleisure in America. - Cross. 2004. REF GV53 .E53 2004.

Dictionaries

  • Dictionary of Concepts in Recreation and Leisure Studies. - Smith. 1990. REF GV11 .S57 1990.
  • A Dictionary of Travel and Tourism Terminology. - Beaver. 2002. REF G155 .A1 B38 2002.
  • Glossary of Recreation Therapy and Occupational Therapy. - Austin. 2001. REF RM736.7 A977 2001.
  • Key Concept in Leisure Studies. - Harris. 2005. REF GV14.45 .H38 2005.

Handbooks

  • Americans At Play : Demographics of Outdoor Recreation & Travel. - Wellner, 1997. REF GV191.4 .W45 1997.
  • Career Opportunities in the Sports Industry. -Field. 3rd ed. 2004. REF GV734 . F545 2004.
  • International Handbook of National Parks and Nature Reserves. - Allin. 1990. REF SB481 .I565 1990.
  • Outdoor Careers : Exploring Occupations in Outdoor Fields. - Shenk. 2nd ed. 2000. REF HF5381 .S542 2000.
  • Pioneers in Leisure and Recreation. - Ibrhim. 1989. REF GV14 .I27 1989.
  • Sports and Games of the Renaissance. - Leibs. 2004. REF GV576 .L43 2004.
  • Sports and Recreation Fads. - Hoffmann. 1991. REF GV583 .H62 1991.

Subject Guide

Dr. Michael Lorenzen's picture
Dr. Michael Lorenzen
Contact:
Leslie F. Malpass Library 638
1 University Circle
Macomb, IL 61455-1390
309-298-1939 (Office), 309-298-2717 (Archives)
Website