Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
WIU Home WIU Home WIU Home WIU QC

Recreation, Park & Tourism Administration: Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center

Department Research Guides identify and define standard information retrieval tools for a specific department. Each guide was created and is maintained by the library liaison for that department. We encourage you to recommend resources for the guides.

About Opposing Viewpoints

Screen shot of the logo for the Gale Opposing Viewpoints database.Opposing Viewpoints is a database that draws on acclaimed the social issues series published by Greenhaven Press as well as core reference content from other Gale(TM) and Macmillan Reference USA an other authoritative sources to provide a complete one-stop source for information on social issues. This database provides access to viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, images, links to Web sites and full-text magazine and newspaper articles.

Gale is an educational publishing company. The company, formerly known as Gale Research and the Gale Group, is active in research and educational publishing for public and academic libraries, schools and businesses. The company may be best known for its full-text magazine and newspaper database InfoTrac and other online databases accessible from schools and libraries, as well as multi-volume reference works, especially in the areas of religion, history and social science.


Screen shot of the Opposing Viewpoints database screen.

Coverage: 6,600+ viewpoint articles; statistics; biographies; court cases; primary docs
Years: dates vary
Topics: Current social issues including: gun control, genetic engineering, censorship, endangered species and terrorism.
Scholarly Articles? No
Fulltext Articles? Yes
Persistent Article Links? Unavailable
Vendor/Publisher: Gale

Browse Issues: Food Related Topics

·        

·         Food safety

·         Nutrition

·         Obesity

·         Organic Food

·         Eating Disorders

·         Health Care Issues

·         Vegetarianism

·         Local Food Movement