This information is specifically written to provide information on searching AGRICOLA on the EBSCO Platform. Other database platforms, like the one for Biological Abstracts, may have different proximity operators and truncation symbols; which are noted below. Some scholarly indexes can be searched using a system similar to Google: enter words to retrieve information on a topic. However, to search indexes such as Agricola and Biological Abstracts a search strategy must be developed.
1. Identify key terms for your search - To identify the topics to search, write a 1-sentence description or question about the topic:
What is known about soybean rust?
What can be done about crazy top in corn?
Identify the key terms in those questions. These are the terms that will be searched in the indexes:
What is known about soybean rust?
What can be done about crazy top in corn?
HINT: AGRICOLA has a list of subject headings (AGRICOLA Thesaurus). The AGRICOLA Thesaurus is available online.
2. Use quotation marks to search phrases - Some examples include genus and species names, of either the disease or the name of an organism that causes a disease.
"Soybean rust" "Phakopsora pachyrhizi" "Crazy Top" "Sclerophthora macrospora"
3. Connect search terms using the words AND. AND finds terms anywhere in the record.
"Crazy Top" AND Corn
"Soybean rust" AND Conditions AND Development
4. Combine terms with similar meanings using OR. Remember, a disease may have a common and scientific name.
("Soybean Rust" OR "Phakopsora pachyrhizi") AND Fungicides
("Crazy Top" OR "Sclerophthora macrospora") AND control
5. Use Parentheses to group parts of a search together. Terms in parentheses will be searched before the rest of the terms in a search (see examples above)
6. To search various forms of a word, use Wildcards and Truncation symbols. The wildcards used in AGRICOLA are: ? # and *.
? - replaces a single character
soybean? will find soybean or soybeans wom?n will find woman or women
# - looks for alternate spellings ($ in Biological Abstracts)
colo#r finds color or colour
* - serves as a truncation symbol to search for different forms of a word or a phrase that is missing a word.
control* finds control, controls, controlled, controlling
manag* finds manage, manages, managed, managing, management
germinat* will find germinate, germinates, germinating, germination
agricultur* finds agriculture, agricultural
gene* finds gene, genes, genetic, genetically
environment* finds environment, environments, environmental, environmentally
7. Use NOT to eliminate items that might not be appropriate for your research. For example, it is possible to eliminate items that are written in a language you don't read by entering the language and then using the pull-down to specify the language.
(("Soybean Rust" OR "Phakopsora pachyrhizi") AND Control) NOT Fungicide?
8. Use the Find It Button to see if a journal article is available in the WIU Libraries. 
In Agricola, Biological Abstracts and other WIU indexes, when search results are displayed, the button displayed above will be seen. By clicking on this button, it is possible to link to the full text of journal articles. If the journal is available through the WIU Libraries, you will be prompted to connect to the journal or directed to the print publication.
The Find It Button only works for journals. It does not work for government publications or reports (which are sometimes used in agricultural research).
If the item is not a journal, search the title in WestCat to see if it is available. If the item is not available in the WIU Libraries, see if it is available in I-Share. If so, you can request it using the I-Share request system. If not, it can be requested through Interlibrary Loan.