The Civil War: Internet Resources

Provides information on Civil War Battlefield protection activities from the U.S. National Park Service. This site includes links to all battlefields maintained by the National Park Service.

The National Park Service web site on the Civil War includes a timeline of events before and after the War, as well as links to resources and National Parks and Monuments related to the War.

A guide to Illinois genealogy related to the Civil War.

A collection of primary source materials from the National Archives that were selected to document the social revolution resulting from emancipation in the words of the participants: liberated slaves and former slaveholders, soldiers and civilians, common folk and the elite, Northerners and Southerners. Developed by the University of Maryland.

The Gettysburg Battlefield, a site of great historical significance in the United States, is the focus of this piece. It delves into the claimed ghost stories and hauntings at the battlefield, the battle’s historical context, and the authenticity of these paranormal assertions.

This site links to selected collections dealing with the Civil War and Reconstruction that are available online at the Library of Congress. The collections are arranged by category. They include collections related to Abraham Lincoln as well as separate collections of maps, portraits, photographs and diaries from the era.

This collection contains primary source materials, including pamphlets, books, broadsides, cartoons, clippings, paintings, maps, and other print memorabilia about America from circa 1830 to 1880 from the collection of the Library Company of Philadelphia. It can be browsed by author, title and date and searched by subject and keyword.

This website from the U.S. National Archives contains links to significant documents dealing with the Civil War and its causes, links to articles in Prologue magazine, and links to lectures about the War given at the National Archives.

Arlington National Cemetery, with over 400,000 interred, is a revered place haunted by ghostly tales. Its history dates back to the Civil War and includes notable figures’ resting places. Legends of the Mourning Lady, enslaved spirits, Confederate soldiers, and funeral processions abound. Analysis ranges from psychological and cultural interpretations to potential spiritual energy.

The American Civil War continues to haunt the country’s consciousness, with ghost stories and legends permeating historical battlegrounds. Locations such as Gettysburg and Antietam are rumored to be haunted by apparitions and phantom sounds.