Skip to Main Content

Religious Studies: Reference Resources

Department Guide

Religious Studies Reference Sources

Below are some examples of reference sources on religion. You can find these items through WorldCat.

Dictionaries

  • Biographical Dictionary of American Cult and Sect Leaders (REF.BL2525.M448 1986)
  • Classical Dictionary of Hindu Mythology and Religion, Geography, History and Literature (REF.BL.1105.D6 1973)
  • Dictionary of Bible and Religion (REF.BR.D46 1986)
  • Dictionary of Buddhism (REF.BQ130.D5)
  • Dictionary of Classical Antiquities: Mythology, religion, literature, art (REF.DE5.S5 1956)
  • Dictionary of Comparative Religion (REF.BL31.D54 1970)
  • Dictionary of Gods and Goddesses (REF.BL473.J67 2004)
  • Glossary of Indian Religious Terms and Concepts (REF.BL1005.B421 1990)
  • Oxford Dictionary of World Religions (REF.BL31.O84 1997)

Encyclopedias

  • Britannica Encyclopedia of World Religions (REF.BL31.B75 2006)
  • Encyclopedia of African American Religions (REF.BR563.N4.E53 1993)
  • Encyclopedia of American Women and World Religion (REF.BL458.E53 1999)
  • Encyclopedia of Archetypal Symbolism (REF.BL603.A72 1991)
  • Encyclopedia of Cults, Sects, and New Religions (REF.BL2525.L49 2002)
  • Encyclopedia of Hinduism (REF.BL1105.J56 2007)
  • Encyclopedia of the Jewish Religion (REF.BM50.W45 1966)
  • Encyclopedia of Native American Shamanism (REF.E98.M4.L98 1998)
  • Encyclopedia of Politics and Religion (REF.BL65.P7 E53 2007)
  • Encyclopedia of Religious Controversies in the United States (REF.BR515.E53 1997)
  • Introduction to New and Alternative Religions in America (REF.BL2525.I58 2006)
  • Jewish Encyclopedia: a Descriptive record of the history, religion, literature and customs of the Jewish people from the earliest times to present day (REF.DS102.8.J6 1901)
  • Key Concepts in Eastern Philosophy (REF.B5010.L32 1999)
  • Man, Myth & Magic: the Illustrated Encyclopedia of Mythology, Religion and the Unknown (REF.BF1407.M34 1995)
  • New Believers: a Survey of Sects, Cults, and Alternative Religions (REF.BP603.B37 2001)
  • New Encyclopedia of Judaism (REF.BM50.E63 2002)
  • New Handbook of Living Religions (REF.BL80.2.H275 1997)

Other

  • Directory of African American Religious Bodies: A compendium by the Howard University School of Divinity (REF.BR563.N4.D57 1991)
  • Harper Religious and Inspirational Quotation Companion (REF.PN6084.R3.P46 1989)
  • How to be a Perfect Stranger: the essential religious etiquette handbook (REF.BJ2010.H68 2002)
  • Literature Suppressed on Religious Grounds (REF.Z658.U52.B36 2006)
  • Miracles: God, Science, and Psychology in the Paranormal (REF.BT97.M49 2008)
  • National Directory of Churches, Synagogues, and other Houses of Worship (REF.BL2525.N38)
  • New Historical Atlas of Religion in America (REF.G1201.E4.N4 2000)
  • New Religious Movements: a documentary reader (REF.BL2525.N4865 2005)
  • Order of Things: How everything in the world is organized into hierarchies, structures, and pecking orders (REF.AG105.K57 2001)
  • Religious Bodies in the United States: a directory (REF.BL2525.M452 1992)
  • Religious Freedom in the World (REF.BL640.R44 2008)
  • Twentieth-century Shapers of American Popular Religion (REF.BL2525.T84 1989)