Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Issues in the News
- CQ Researcher
Researcher is often the first source that librarians recommend when
researchers are seeking original, comprehensive reporting and analysis
on issues in the news. Founded in 1923 as Editorial Research Reports, CQ
Researcher is noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health,
social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the
environment, technology, and the economy. Reports are published weekly
in print and online 44 times a year by CQ Press, a division of
Congressional Quarterly Inc.
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
- 6,600+ viewpoint articles; statistics; biographies; court cases; primary docs
Popular Multidisciplinary Databases
InfoTrac (Academic OneFile Select)
Indexes over 2,000 periodicals, all fields, including art, business, education, ethnic studies, government, history, literature, political science, psychology, religion, much more.
Readers' Guide Abstracts
A multidisciplinary index to over 300 magazines and journals from 1890-present.
Academic Search Complete
Coverage: 4,700 full-text journals; 8,200 scholarly journals (index/abstracts)
Years: dates vary
Topics: all areas; including business, social sciences, humanities, general academic, general science and education.
- America's Newspapers
- Selected full text from over 600 U.S. newspapers, including current articles from the Chicago Tribune.
- Historical Chicago Tribune, 1849-1987
This database delivers every page of every issue from cover to cover,
with full-page and article images in PDF. It offers access to nearly
135 years of a newspaper intimately tied to the development of Chicago
and the growth of the Midwest region and nation. Includes display &
classified ads; comics & cartoons; photos, maps, & graphics;
and editorials & commentary in addition to news articles.
Academic is an outstanding service for researching news, business, and
legal topics. It contains more than 6,000 sources from all over the
world, drawn from print, broadcast, and online media. The deep backfile
lets you find contemporary accounts of events that took place decades
- Newspaper Source
- Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 (U.S.) & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided.
- Proquest Digital Microfilm
- New York Times & Chicago Tribune for several years.