Computer Sciences: Reference Tools

Image courtesy of FreeDigitalPhotos.net

The library subscribes to a lot of specialized computer and technology dictionaries, which can be found in our reference collection. Here are a few examples:

Abbreviations: the comprehensive dictionary of abbreviations and letter symbols for the computer area (REF.PE693.W35 1984)

Academic Press Dictionary of Science and Technology (REF.Q123.A33)

Computer Graphics Dictionary (REF.T385.S772 2002)

Dictionary of Computing (REF.QA76.15.D526 2004)

Illustrated Dictionary of Electronics (REF.TK7804.G497 2001)

Webster's New World Computer Dictionary (REF.QA76.15.W37 2003)

You can find these materials by searching in the library's WestCat catalog. You can limit your search so that ONLY reference books are retrieved. This video will show you how:

SHORT VIDEO on finding reference materials

Image courtesy of FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Besides dictionaries, the library also has several computer science encyclopedias, handbooks and other reference guides, which can be found through WestCat. Here are some examples:

Asimov's Chronology of Science and Discovery (REF.Q125.A765 1989)

E-What?: a guide to the quirks of new media style and usage (REF.TK5102.E94 2000)

Leaders of the Information Age (REF.QA76.2.A2.L43 2003)

McGraw-Hill Yearbook of Science and Technology (REF.Q1.M13)

Milestones in Computer Science and Information Technology (REF. QA76.R434 2003)

New York Public Library Science Desk Reference (REF.Q173.B25 1995)

Origins of Cyberspace: a library on the history of computing, networking, and telecommunications (REF.QA76.17.H66 2002)

Science and Technical Writing: a manual of style (REF.T11.S378 2001)

Scientific Laws, Principles, and Theories: a reference guide (REF.Q158.5.K74 2001)