Welcome to the History Department Libary Guide, compiled and edited by Michael Lorenzen, liaison to the History Department.
College students have a lot to consider when starting their research. Finding and verifying the credibility of resources is an important part of the process, especially when it comes to topics like history. To assist college students, this guide serves as an introduction to the history resource guide available through Western Illinois University Libraries.
The purpose of this guide is to provide college students with an overview of the resources available through WIU Libraries for researching historical topics. Students will learn what criteria to consider when selecting credible web and print resources, as well as some of the best examples for each type of resource.
The topics covered in this guide include credible web resources, print resources, and best practices for researching history. This guide provides an introduction for college students who are just getting started with their research and who may not have a lot of experience with finding and verifying sources.
When researching historical topics, it is important to consider the credibility of web sources. College students should look for sources that are reliable, accurate, and up-to-date. They should also consider the source’s authoritativeness and objectivity.
Some of the best web resources for researching historical topics include: Google Scholar, Wikipedia, and The National Archives. Google Scholar is a great starting point for research as it provides access to scholarly articles, books, and other sources. Wikipedia can also be a great resource as long as students take the time to verify its accuracy. The National Archives is a great resource for primary sources such as documents, photographs, and audio recordings.
Print resources can also be great for researching historical topics. When selecting print materials, college students should consider the author’s credentials, the publisher’s reputation, and whether or not the material has been revised recently.
Some of the best print resources for researching history include: textbooks, encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, and bibliographies. Textbooks provide a comprehensive overview of a particular subject and are often revised regularly to ensure accuracy. Encyclopedias provide concise summaries of topics and are often organized alphabetically for easy reference. Dictionaries provide definitions of terms related to a particular subject. Biographies provide detailed accounts of individuals and their contributions to history. Bibliographies provide lists of books that are related to a particular topic.
This guide serves as an introduction to the history resource guide available through WIU Libraries. College students should now have an understanding of what criteria they should consider when selecting credible web and print resources, as well as some of the best examples for each type of resource. It is also important to remember that when researching historical topics, best practices include verifying sources, using multiple types of sources, and citing sources properly.
