The Illinois Project for Local Assessment of Needs web site offers a data system containing 102 health indicators, which are available at the county-level. Thirty-nine of these indicators are available at the community-level. Illinois data is included on all county-level and community-level reports. Data can be charted, sorted and saved by using the data manipulation tool.
You may be especially interested in the IPLAN Data system. It provides access to essential public health data for assessment and planning resources. Data are generally provided at the county level and, in some cases, at the community level. The system further identifies associated populations by age, race, ethnicity and gender for selected indicators.
The biggest drawback to this database is that it was last updated on May 22, 2009.
"Currently, Community Health Status Indicators 2015 reported about 205 health indicators (around 537 data measurements) for 3,141 current counties in 50 states and District of Columbia." [from "About the Data" on this site] We really like this site and encourage you to use it for your project. "The re-launch of CHSI includes 3,141 county health status profiles representing each county in the United States excluding territories. CHSI now includes updated data, select mapping capabilities of health indicators, and a website where the public can access and download the data and information. While some relatively minor modifications have been made to the reports, no new indicators were added." [from "About the Project"] Includes the following data points:
Community Nutrion Mapping Project, or CNMap for short, is associated with the Food and Nutrition Information Center. FNIC is a leader in on-line global nutrition information. Located at the National Agricultural Library (NAL) of USDA, the FNIC Web site contains over 2500 links to current and reliable nutrition information. Regional and state level.
MedlinePlus Health Topics from the National Library of Medicine/National Institutes of Health, covers over 400 health topics.
Each health topic has a Reference Shelf that includes a "Statistics" section of links one can find by scrolling about half way down the topic's page
These CDC pages were not covered in class, but they may also have information helpful to your research.
