Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Open Access Task Force: Introduction & Members

Introduction to Open Access, including information on publisher practices, definitions and other resources.

WIU Open Access Committee

Illinois Public Act 98-0295 requires public universities to appoint Open Access to Research Task Forces that will "consider how the university can best further the open access goals laid out in" the Act, "review how peer institutions and the federal government are addressing issues related to open access and ensure that any institutional or statewide policies are consistent with steps taken by federal grant-making agencies" and "consider academic, legal, ethical, and fiscal ramifications of and questions regarding an open access policy."

Task Force Members


Dr. Michael G. Lorenzen, Dean of Libraries


Dale Adkins, Associate Dean, College of Education & Human Services
Colin R. Harbke, Associate Professor of Psychology (UPI)
Rose McConnell, Professor and Chair of Chemistry
Lisa Miczo, Professor of Communication
Robert J. Hironimus-Wendt, Associate Professor of Sociology
Nancy Parsons, Associate Provost for Undergraduate & Graduate Studies
Kanu Priya, Assistant Professor of Management & Marketing (QC)
Jordan Schilling, Springer Publishing US
James A. Schmidt, Associate Dean, College of Arts & Sciences
Linda R. Zellmer, Associate Professor, University Libraries

Administrative Assistant

Lora J Adcock, Library Administration Office