Statistics - HIST 422G - Illinois History - Library Guides at Western Illinois University

Illinois, 1840

Map of Illinois showing Population Density in 1840. Made with geographic information system software by Linda Zellmer.

Historical Statistics Sources

Statistics, like maps, can be used to show change over time. Some statistics, such as data from the Census of Population, Census of Agriculture, or Economic Censuses, can be mapped using GIS, a specialized computer mapping software. Historical data for Illinois is available from the following sources:

Data.census.gov This link opens in a new window
Data.census.gov represents a new chapter in the Census Bureau’s dissemination approach by centralizing data access and allowing for a more rapid response to customers.
Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
This database contains data on a wide variety of topics, including migration, health, crime and other topics. It also includes data about the Confederate States of America. The data can be searched and downloaded so that users can create customized tables, graphs and spreadsheets.

National Historical GIS
The National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS), at the University of Minnesota Data Center, provides historical Census data and GIS boundary files for the United States between 1790 and 2013. Data is provided free of charge to registered users.
Decennial Census Records
The Census Bureau has a web site that provides information on historical Census data. Some early Census volumes have been digitized and can be accessed online.
Measuring America: The Decennial Censuses from 1790 to 2000
A report on the history of the U.S. Censuses that includes the Census questionnaires and enumerator instructions used since the first Census in 1790.
Census of Population and Housing
The census tells us who we are and where we are going as a nation. The census helps our communities determine where to build everything from schools to supermarkets, and from homes to hospitals. It helps the government decide how to distribute funds and assistance to states and localities. It is also used to draw the lines of legislative districts and reapportion the seats each State holds in Congress.
Illinois Blue Book Digital Collection
The Illinois Blue Book provides information about the state’s officials, government, services, history and statistics. The Blue Books for Illinois have been digitized and are available online in the Illinois Digital Archive.

HIST 422G - Illinois History: Statistics

Illinois, 1840

Historical Statistics Sources