Covers a wide variety of topics, including minorities and education. Contains a mix of scholarly and general audience publications. Consider using the limit to scholarly (peer reviewed) journals box. EBSCO. Dates vary.
For this class, I recommend browsing in the "social movement" section. CQ Researcher is often the first source that librarians recommend when researchers are seeking original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news. Founded in 1923 as Editorial Research Reports, CQ Researcher is noted for its in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Reports are published weekly in print and online 44 times a year by CQ Press, a division of Congressional Quarterly Inc.
Readers' Guide Abstracts is a database containing comprehensive indexing and abstracting of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and Canada. Most of the titles in this database are not scholarly. The abstracts average 125 words in length.
You will see this database under newspapers as well, because that it indexes newspapers as well as legal information, such as law reviews, legal news, landmark cases, federal and states cases, state and federal statutes and regulations, and legal reference.
Covers North American history from ancient times to the present.
Click on the Online Databases link on the library’s homepage. Note that
the presence of a full-text link does not mean that WIU has the
full-text version. Coverage c1955.
Index to Black Periodicals, 1950-2004 .
Indexes African-American periodicals of general and scholarly
interest. Located in the reference stacks under REF/E/185.5/I58.
Building use only.
CSA Social Services Abstracts provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. The database abstracts and indexes over 1,300+ serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations, and citations to book reviews.
