Skip to Main Content
Newspapers
- The African American Market
- Over 250 listings of African American Newspapers & Publications across the United States.
- Access World News, dates vary
- America'a Newspapers is the Libraries best single source for full-text newspapers articles. Simple to search. Includes access to the Chicago Tribune and the Peoria Journal Star, the two most popular newspapers in our area. Limit your search by newspaper, state, region, and more.
- Chicago Defender Online
- Review the issues back to 2008. Archival content available for a fee.
- Historical Chicago Tribune, 1849-1990
- This database delivers every page of every issue from cover to cover, with full-page and article images in PDF. It offers access to nearly 135 years of a newspaper intimately tied to the development of Chicago and the growth of the Midwest region and nation. Includes display & classified ads; comics & cartoons; photos, maps, & graphics; and editorials & commentary in addition to news articles.
- LexisNexis Academic
- Provides access to many international, national and regional newspapers going back, in some cases, to the early 1970s.
- New York Times Article Archive
- For early issues of the New York Times, you may consult the microfilm set on the Third Floor of the Malpass Library. Save copied images to the samba server. Or try your luck with the New York Times Article Archive. According to the Times' website, articles in the public domain are free. Premium articles are for sale. Use the Article Archive as a free index, if nothing else.
- Newspaper Source
- Provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 (U.S.) & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided.
- Proquest Digital Microfilm
- Provides full pages images from the NY Times and Chicago Tribune back to 2008.
