Course Reserves and Reference Sources - ARTH 394 - 20th Century Art (Holz) - Library Guides at Western Illinois University

Using Reserves and Reference Books

Please note that neither course reserves nor reference materials may be removed from the library without permission from a librarian. There are touch-screen scanners on the 1st and 2nd floors of Malpass, for you to scan and save pages from these sources.

Course Reserves

Course reserves are books your professor has left at the circulation desk for you to use inside the library. You can find a list of your course reserves by going into WestCat, clicking the Course Reserves tab, and then searching by your professor's name or the course number.

Reference Sources

References sources are collections of background information on a topic. They can help you find out more about your initial topic, and often provide a bibliography of further sources at the end of their articles. Reference sources in Malpass Library are located in the Reference shelves on the 2nd floor, near the reference desk.

Benezit Dictionary of Artists
Short descriptions, with bibliographic references, of noteworthy artists throughout history.
Dictionary of Art
Short descriptions of artists, artistic movements, and forms/areas of artistic expression throughout history. Includes bibliographical references.
Encyclopedia of Comparative Iconography
Encyclopedia focused on specific visual themes - death, nudes, the sublime, etc. - throughout art history: "It provides an analysis of over 100 selected themes that reflect the increasingly interdisciplinary nature of scholarly and academic work through the use of various iconographical sources."
Encyclopedia of World Art
Massive overview of art topics. The edition on the shelf is from 1987, but for background information on a variety of artists, movements, and locales, this is still a good source.
Modern Arts Criticism
"A biographical and critical guide to painters, sculptors, photographers, and architects from the beginning of the modern era to the present." Note that "present" at the time of publication meant 1994.
Styles, schools and movements : the essential encyclopaedic guide to modern art
Short essays on modern art movements, schools, etc., with a listing of "key books" for each.

ARTH 394 - 20th Century Art (Holz): Course Reserves and Reference Sources

Using Reserves and Reference Books

Course Reserves

Course Reserves

Reference Sources

Reference Sources